Regulatory action – Ontario Power Generation

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

July 6, 2018

Regulatory action issued to Ontario Power Generation

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission has issued a request for information to Ontario Power Generation (OPG), pursuant to subsection 12(2) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations. The request relates to radiation risk assessments and the measures in place to protect workers  from potential exposures to alpha contamination in the Retube Waste Processing Building (RWPB) and in the Darlington Nuclear Generating Station Unit 2 vault.

The licensee is requested to provide CNSC staff with analyses to demonstrate the adequacy of several elements, including alpha hazard characterization, provision of appropriate personnel protective equipment (PPE) to workers and oversight activities by the licensee to ensure compliance with its radiation protection program. OPG is required to respond to this request in the coming weeks.

The CNSC requires this information in order to fulfill its mandated duty to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the letter (PDF, 3 pages, 2162 kb)

2016

June 28, 2016

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Ontario Power Generation

On June 28, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to Ontario Power Generation has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

January 12, 2016

AMP issued to Ontario Power Generation

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced it had issued an administrative monetary penalty to Ontario Power Generation (OPG), in the amount of $31, 690. The licensee failed to comply with conditions of the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station licence contrary to paragraph 48(c) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

Further details are prescribed information and cannot be released in accordance with subsection 23(1) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Ontario Power Generation

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

6 juillet 2018

Mesure réglementaire signifiée à Ontario Power Generation

Conformément au paragraphe 12(2) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a envoyé une requête à Ontario Power Generation (OPG) lui demandant de l'information. La requête concerne les évaluations des risques radiologiques et les mesures en place visant à protéger les travailleurs contre les expositions potentielles à une contamination alpha dans le Bâtiment de traitement des déchets de retubage (RWPB) ainsi que dans l'enceinte de la tranche 2 de la centrale nucléaire de Darlington.

On demande au titulaire de permis de fournir au personnel de la CCSN les analyses démontrant le caractère adéquat de plusieurs éléments, y compris la caractérisation des dangers alphas, la fourniture d'équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) approprié aux travailleurs, et les activités de surveillance menées par le titulaire de permis afin d'assurer la conformité à son programme de radioprotection. OPG doit répondre à cette requête dans les semaines qui suivent.

La CCSN nécessite ces renseignements afin de remplir son mandat de protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, du public et de protéger l'environnement.

Lire la lettre (PDF, 3 pages, 176 kb)

2016

28 juin 2016

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Ontario Power Generation

Le 28 juin 2016, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Ontario Power Generation a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

12 janvier 2016

SAP imposée à Ontario Power Generation

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire de
31 690 $ à Ontario Power Generation (OPG), car le titulaire de permis a contrevenu aux conditions de son permis pour la centrale nucléaire de Pickering, violant ainsi l’alinéa 48c) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaire (LSRN).

Les détails entourant cette SAP constituent des renseignements réglementés et ne peuvent être rendus publics, conformément au paragraphe 23(1) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Dernière mise à jour :