Regulatory action – Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

June 9, 2016

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

On June 9, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to Nuclear Services Canada Inc. has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

May 2, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

On May 2, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Nuclear Services Canada Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 18, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

AMP issued to Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced it had issued an administrative monetary penalty (AMP) to Nuclear Services Canada Inc., in the amount of $6,460. In November 2015, the licensee had presented for transport, and subsequently transported, radioactive material in packages that did not meet applicable regulatory requirements. These actions constitute a violation under paragraph 26(1)(a) of the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations, 2015.

March 18, 2016

Order to Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on March 18, 2016 to Nuclear Services Canada Inc., a company based in Merlin, ON that provides calibration services to licensees that possess nuclear substances. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances for the purposes of calibrating radiation detection equipment.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company headquarters in Merlin, ON. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the licensee’s radiation safety manual, radiation protection program and training of workers. The order requires Nuclear Services Canada Inc. to cease all activities under the calibration licence, which involves placing all nuclear substances into safe storage until the licensee implements corrective measures and addresses all non-compliances.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

9 juin 2016

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

Le 9 juin 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Nuclear Services Canada Inc. a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

2 mai 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

Le 2 mai 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Nuclear Services Canada Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 18 mars 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

SAP imposée à Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) de 6 460 $ à Nuclear Services Canada Inc. En novembre 2015, le titulaire de permis a présenté des matières radioactives aux fins de transport et transporté ultérieurement des matières radioactives dans des colis qui ne répondaient pas aux exigences réglementaires applicables. Ces actions constituent une violation en vertu de l’alinéa 26(1)a du Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (2015).

18 mars 2016

Ordre délivré à Nuclear Services Canada Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 18 mars 2016 à Nuclear Services Canada Inc., une entreprise établie à Merlin (Ontario), qui fournit des services d’étalonnage aux titulaires de permis qui possèdent des substances nucléaires. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des substances nucléaires pour l’étalonnage d’équipement de détection du rayonnement.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN au siège social de l’entreprise, situé à Merlin (Ontario). L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés au manuel de radioprotection, au programme de radioprotection et à la formation des travailleurs du titulaire de permis. L’ordre exige que Nuclear Services Canada Inc. cesse toutes les activités effectuées en vertu de son permis d’étalonnage, ce qui signifie qu’elle doit placer toutes les substances nucléaires en stockage sûr jusqu’à ce qu’elle applique des mesures correctives pour régler tous les cas de non-conformité.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.