Regulatory action – Milner Power Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

December 9, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Milner Power Inc.

On December 9, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Milner Power Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on November 22, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

November 30, 2016

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Milner Power Inc.

On November 30, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to Milner Power Inc. has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

November 22, 2016

Order and administrative monetary penalty issued to Milner Power Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on September 21, 2016 to Milner Power Inc., a coal-fired power station located near Grand Cache, AB. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, use, transfer and storage of fixed gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the power station near Grand Cache, AB. The inspection identified non-compliances with regard to vessel entries. The inspection also identified non-compliances with record keeping and worker training, as well as deficiencies in the licensee’s implementation of the radiation protection program.

The order prohibits the licensee from performing any vessel entries into confined spaces with radiation devices, or from performing any tasks related to the direct handling of the radiation devices until the licensee can demonstrate that they have compliant procedures and documentation in place that have been accepted by the CNSC. Further, the order prohibits the licensee from performing these tasks until all workers have received training on these procedures and all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been corrected to the CNSC’s satisfaction.

On November 9, 2016, the CNSC also issued an administrative monetary penalty to Milner Power Inc. in the amount of $3,970. The licensee failed to comply with a condition of its licence for fixed gauge use, in violation of paragraph 48(c) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

Mesure réglementaire – Milner Power Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

9 décembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Milner Power Inc.

Le 9 décembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Milner Power Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 22 novembre 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

30 novembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Milner Power Inc.

Le 30 novembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Milner Power Inc. a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

22 novembre 2016

Ordre et sanction administrative pécuniaire imposés à Milner Power Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 21 septembre 2016 à Milner Power Inc., une centrale au charbon située près de Grand Cache (Alberta). L’entreprise détient un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à utiliser, à transférer et à stocker des jauges nucléaires fixes.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à la centrale en question qui a révélé des cas de non-conformité à l’égard des entrées dans une cuve, à la tenue de dossiers et à la formation des travailleurs, ainsi que des lacunes quant à la mise en œuvre d’un programme de radioprotection.

L’ordre interdit au titulaire de permis d’effectuer des entrées dans une cuve (dans le cas d’espaces restreints) avec des appareils à rayonnement ou d’exécuter toute tâche faisant appel à la manipulation directe d’appareils à rayonnement, et ce, jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer qu’il a de la documentation et des procédures conformes approuvées par la CCSN. De plus, l’ordre interdit au titulaire de permis d’exécuter ces tâches jusqu’à ce que tous les travailleurs aient reçu une formation sur ces procédures et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection aient été corrigés à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

Le 9 novembre 2016, la CCSN a également délivré une sanction administrative pécuniaire à Milner Power Inc. pour la somme de 3 970 $. Le titulaire de permis a contrevenu à une condition de son permis pour l’utilisation de jauges nucléaires fixes, en violation de l’alinéa 48c) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.