Regulatory action – Labo S.M. Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

June 26, 2017

Order issued to Labo S.M. Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on June 17, 2017 to Labo S.M. Inc., a company based in Montreal, QC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, use and store of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.
The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Montreal, QC. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site. The inspection also identified that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge was not adequately trained and was not following company procedures when conducting activities with nuclear gauges.

The order requires the worker to immediately cease the use of portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker is adequately trained to ensure the security of those portable nuclear gauges in the field.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

June 13, 2017

Update on order issued to Labo S.M. Inc.

On June 7, 2017, the CNSC confirmed that Labo S.M. Inc. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on May 15, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by this company were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

May 25, 2017

Order issued to Labo S.M. Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on May 15, 2017 to Labo S.M. Inc., a company based in Montreal, QC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, use and store of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Laval, QC. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site. The inspection also identified that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge was not adequately trained and was not following company procedures when conducting activities with nuclear gauges including transport.

The order requires the worker to immediately cease the use of portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker is adequately trained to ensure the security of those portable nuclear gauges in the field.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

2015

September 21, 2015

On September 21, 2015, the CNSC confirmed that Labo S.M. Inc. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on August 12, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by this company were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 19, 2015

Order to Labo S.M. Inc.

On August 12, 2015, the CNSC issued an order to Labo S.M. Inc., a company based in Sherbrooke, QC, that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at a work site in Laval, QC. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site. The inspection also identified that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge was not adequately trained and did not follow company procedures to conduct the activities authorized under the licence.

The order requires the worker to immediately cease the use of portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker is adequately trained to use portable nuclear gauges.

The CNSC required these measures to protect the health and safety of workers and the public, as well as the environment.

2013

November 5, 2013

Update on order issued to Labo S.M. Inc.

On November 5, 2013 the CNSC confirmed that Labo S.M. Inc. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on October 2. The corrective measures implemented by this company were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

October 9, 2013

Order to Labo S.M. Inc.

On October 9, 2013, the CNSC announced it had issued an order to Labo S.M. Inc.

Labo S.M. Inc. is located in Sherbrooke, Québec and offers geotechnical, environmental and materials engineering services across the province. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The CNSC issued the order on October 2, 2013, following a television report that aired on TVA on October 1, 2013. The report showed a technician handling a portable nuclear gauge in an unsafe manner. Labo S.M. Inc. confirmed to the CNSC that the technician was one of their own and that the incident took place on the day of the television report.

The order requires the employee in question to cease using the device immediately and to refrain from using it until Labo S.M. Inc. has given him the necessary training and is certain of his competence.

The CNSC requires that these measures be taken in order to prevent unreasonable risk to the health and safety of the worker, as well as to the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Labo S.M. Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et de ses règlements d'application, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) peut prendre des mesures réglementaires à divers niveaux, afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

13 juin 2017

Mise à jour sur l’ordre délivré à Labo S.M. Inc.

Le 7 juin 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Labo S.M. Inc. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 15 mai 2017. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

25 mai 2017

Ordre délivré à Labo S.M. Inc.

Aujourd’hui, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 15 mai 2017 à Labo S.M. Inc., une entreprise établie à Montréal (Québec) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, civil, de l’environnement et des matériaux. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à importer, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site à Laval (Québec). L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la sécurité d’une jauge nucléaire portative utilisée sur les lieux de travail. De plus, il a été déterminé que la personne qui l’utilisait n’avait pas reçu une formation adéquate et ne suivait pas les procédures de l’entreprise pour effectuer des activités à l’aide des jauges nucléaires, incluant le transport.

L’ordre exige que le travailleur cesse immédiatement d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le travailleur a reçu une formation adéquate sur la façon d’assurer la sécurité de ces jauges nucléaires en chantier.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)

 

2015

21 septembre 2015

Le 21 septembre 2015, la CCSN a confirmé que Labo S.M. Inc. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 12 août 2015. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

19 août 2015

Ordre délivré à Labo S.M. Inc.

Le 12 août 2015, la CCSN a délivré un ordre à Labo S.M. Inc., une entreprise établie à Sherbrooke (Québec) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, civil, de l’environnement et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site à Laval (Québec). L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la sécurité d’une jauge nucléaire portative utilisée sur les lieux de travail. De plus, il a été déterminé que la personne qui l’utilisait n’avait pas reçu une formation adéquate et ne suivait pas les procédures de l’entreprise pour effectuer les activités autorisées en vertu du permis.

L’ordre exige que le travailleur cesse immédiatement d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce qu’il soit démontré, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu’il a reçu une formation adéquate sur l’utilisation de ces jauges.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

2013

5 novembre 2013

Mise à jour sur l’ordre délivré à Labo S.M. Inc.

Le 5 novembre 2013, la CCSN a confirmé que Labo S.M. Inc. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 2 octobre. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

9 octobre, 2013

Ordre délivré à Labo S.M. Inc.

Le 9 octobre 2013, la CCSN a annoncé qu'elle avait délivré un ordre à Labo S.M. Inc.

L'entreprise Labo S.M. Inc. est située à Sherbrooke (Québec) et offre des services géotechniques, environnementaux et de génie des matériaux dans toute la province. L'entreprise est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN qui l'autorise à posséder, transférer, importer, utiliser et stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives.

La CCSN a délivré l'ordre le 2 octobre à la suite d'un reportage télévisuel présenté le 1octobre 2013 sur la chaîne de télévision TVA. Lors du reportage, on voit un technicien qui manipule une jauge nucléaire portative de façon non sécuritaire. Labo S.M. Inc. a confirmé à la CCSN qu'il s'agissait bien d'un de ses techniciens et que l'incident a eu lieu le jour du reportage.

L'ordre exige que le travailleur en question cesse immédiatement d'utiliser le dispositif et qu'il ne recommence pas à s'en servir tant que Labo S.M. Inc. ne lui aura pas donné une nouvelle formation et ne se sera pas assurée qu'il est compétent.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de prévenir les risques déraisonnables pour la santé et la sécurité du travailleur ainsi que pour le public et l'environnement.