Regulatory action – Inter-Cité Construction Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

September 7, 2017

Update on regulatory action issued to Inter-Cité Construction Ltd.

On September 7, 2017, the CNSC confirmed that Inter-Cité Construction Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on August 31, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 31, 2017

Order issued to Inter-Cité Construction Ltd.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it had issued an order on August 31, 2017 to Inter-Cité Construction Ltd., a company based in Chicoutimi, QC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, export, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Québec City, QC. The inspection identified a non-compliance related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site.

The order requires the worker to immediately stop working and cease handling portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that it has taken adequate measures to ensure that the worker will maintain the security of portable nuclear gauges in the field.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Inter-Cité Construction Ltée

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

7 septembre 2017

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre d’Inter-Cité Construction Ltée

Le 7 septembre 2017, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Inter-Cité Construction Ltée s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 31 août 2017. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

31 août 2017

Ordre délivré à Inter-Cité Construction Ltée

Aujourd’hui, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 31 août 2017 à Inter-Cité Construction Ltée, une entreprise établie à Chicoutimi (Québec) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à importer, à exporter, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site à Québec (Québec). L’inspection a permis de relever un cas de non-conformité lié à la sécurité d’une jauge nucléaire portative utilisée sur les lieux de travail.

L’ordre exige que l’employé visé cesse immédiatement de travailler et d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu’il a pris les mesures voulues pour veiller à ce que l’employé assure la sûreté des jauges nucléaires portatives sur le terrain.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.