Regulatory action – Horizon Engineering Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

November 24, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Horizon Engineering Inc.

On November 24, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Horizon Engineering Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on October 26, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

November 4, 2016

Order issued to Horizon Engineering Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on October 26, 2016 to Horizon Engineering Inc., a company based in North Vancouver, BC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, use and transfer of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s North Vancouver location. The inspection identified non-compliances with the implementation and oversight of the licensee’s radiation protection program at the location. The inspection also identified several non-compliances in the areas of worker training and record keeping.

The order requires the licensee to cease any use of and to return all portable gauges to secure storage until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that management control and oversight of the radiation protection program has been effectively implemented and that all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been satisfactorily corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Horizon Engineering Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

24 novembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre d’Horizon Engineering Inc.

Le 24 novembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Horizon Engineering Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 26 octobre 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

4 novembre 2016

Ordre délivré à Horizon Engineering Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 26 octobre 2016 à Horizon Engineering Inc., une entreprise établie à North Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à utiliser et à transférer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur le site de North Vancouver de l’entreprise. L’inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis sur ce site. Plusieurs cas de non-conformité liés à la formation des travailleurs et à la tenue des dossiers ont aussi été relevés.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse d’utiliser toutes ses jauges portatives et les place dans un lieu de stockage sûr jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction assure un contrôle et une surveillance adéquate et efficace du programme de radioprotection et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection ont été réglés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et de protéger l’environnement.