Regulatory action – Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

October 3, 2016

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Hoban Equipment Ltd.

On October 3, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to Hoban Equipment Ltd. has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

September 14, 2016

Order and administrative monetary penalty issued to Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on June 1, 2016 to Hoban Equipment Ltd., a company based in Vernon, BC that provides geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection on June 1, 2016 at the company headquarters in Prince George, BC. The inspection identified items of non-compliance related to the management oversight, implementation and control of the licensee’s radiation protection program. The order required Hoban Equipment Ltd. to cease all use of its portable gauges. It also required the licensee to make immediate provisions for the safe and secure storage of the gauges, until it addresses all non-compliances and demonstrates to the CNSC’s satisfaction that it has adequate management control and oversight of the radiation protection program.

On July 4, 2016, a CNSC inspector confirmed that the portable gauges are in safe storage at the company’s headquarters in Prince George, BC. On August 26, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Hoban Equipment Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on June 1, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

On September 7, 2016, the CNSC also issued an administrative monetary penalty to Hoban Equipment Ltd. in the amount of $10, 360. The licensee carried on a prescribed activity – the use of portable gauges – contrary to the licence issued to the company. This was a violation of section 26 of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act.

2013

April 23, 2013

Update on order issued to Hoban Equipment Ltd.

On April 23, 2013, the CNSC confirmed that Hoban Equipment Ltd. complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on January 30. The corrective measures implemented by this company were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

February 6, 2013

Order to Hoban Equipment Ltd.

On February 6, 2013, the CNSC announced that it had issued an order to Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Hoban Equipment Ltd. is a construction company serving the heavy equipment industry in central British Columbia, with offices in Prince George and the Okanagan Valley. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The order was issued on January 30, 2013 as a result of observations made during an inspection that identified numerous deficiencies in the transportation of nuclear devices as well as the company's radiation protection and training programs.

The order requires Hoban Equipment Ltd. to immediately service the nuclear gauges and place them in secure storage until all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been corrected.

The CNSC requires that the portable nuclear gauges be placed in storage to ensure that there is no risk posed to the health and safety of workers, the public or the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Hoban Equipment Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

3 octobre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Le 3 octobre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Hoban Equipment Ltd. a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

14 septembre 2016

Ordre et sanction administrative pécuniaire imposés à Hoban Equipment Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle a délivré un ordre le 1er juin 2016 à Hoban Equipment Ltd., une entreprise établie à Vernon (Colombie-Britannique) qui fournit des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder des jauges nucléaires portatives afin de mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN réalisée le 1er juin 2016 à l’administration centrale de l’entreprise située à Prince George (Colombie-Britannique). L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la surveillance, par la direction, du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis ainsi qu’à la mise en œuvre et au contrôle de ce programme. L’ordre exige que Hoban Equipment Ltd. cesse d’utiliser toutes ses jauges portatives. L’entreprise doit aussi prendre immédiatement des dispositions pour assurer l’entreposage sécuritaire des jauges jusqu’à ce qu’elle ait réglé tous les cas de non-conformité et démontré, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction assure un contrôle et une surveillance adéquats du programme de radioprotection.

Le 4 juillet 2016, un inspecteur de la CCSN a confirmé que les jauges portatives ont été entreposées de façon sûre à l’administration centrale de l’entreprise à Prince George (C.-B.). Le 26 août 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Hoban Equipment  Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 1er juin 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

Le 7 septembre 2016, la CCSN a également imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) de 10 360 $ à Hoban Equipment Ltd. Le titulaire de permis a poursuivi une activité réglementée – soit l’utilisation de jauges portatives – ce qui va à l’encontre des conditions du permis délivré à l’entreprise. Il s’agit d’une violation de l’article 26 de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

2013

23 avril 2013

Mise à jour au sujet de l'ordre délivré à Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Le 23 avril 2013, la CCSN a confirmé que Hoban Equipment Ltd. s'est conformée à toutes les modalités et conditions de l'ordre qui lui a été délivré le 30 janvier. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

6 février 2013

Ordre délivré à Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Le 6 février 2013, la CCSN a annoncé qu'elle avait délivré un ordre à Hoban Equipment Ltd.

Hoban Equipment Ltd. est une entreprise de construction au service de l'industrie de la machinerie lourde dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, avec des bureaux à Prince George et dans la vallée de l'Okanagan. L'entreprise est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder, transférer, utiliser et stocker les jauges nucléaires portatives.

L'ordre a été délivré le 30 janvier 2013 à la suite d'observations faites au cours d'une inspection. Celle-ci a permis de relever divers problèmes dans le transport d'appareils nucléaires et dans les programmes de radioprotection et de formation de l'entreprise.

L'ordre exige que Hoban Equipment Ltd. fasse un entretien immédiat des jauges nucléaires et les entrepose dans un lieu sécuritaire jusqu'à ce que tous les points de non conformité relevés au cours de l'inspection aient été réglés.

La CCSN exige que les jauges nucléaires portatives soient entreposées afin qu'elles ne posent aucun risque pour la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public ainsi que pour l'environnement.