Regulatory action – Dawson Construction Limited

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

September 30, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Dawson Construction Limited

On September 30, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Dawson Construction Limited had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on September 22, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

September 22, 2016

Order issued to Dawson Construction Limited

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on September 15, 2016 to Dawson Construction Limited, a company based in Kamloops, BC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, use and transfer of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s Kamloops location. The inspection identified non-compliances with the implementation and oversight of the licensee’s radiation protection program at the location. The inspection also identified several non-compliances with the transport and labelling of portable nuclear gauges and record keeping.

The order requires the licensee to return all portable gauges to secure storage until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the radiation protection program has been effectively implemented and that all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been satisfactorily corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Dawson Construction Limited

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

30 septembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Dawson Construction Limited

Le 30 septembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Dawson Construction Limited s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 22 septembre 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

22 septembre 2016

Ordre délivré à Dawson Construction Limited

Aujourd’hui, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 15 septembre 2016 à Dawson Construction Limited, une entreprise établie à Kamloops (Colombie-Britannique) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à utiliser et à transférer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré après une inspection de la CCSN au site de l’entreprise à Kamloops. Des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis ont été relevés sur le site. L’inspection a également permis de relever plusieurs cas de non-conformité liés au transport et à l’étiquetage des jauges nucléaires portatives, ainsi qu’à la tenue des dossiers.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis remette toutes ses jauges portatives en stockage sûr jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le programme de radioprotection a été mis en œuvre efficacement et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection ont été corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.