Regulatory action – Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

June 21, 2018

Update on the request for information for CNL

CNL has provided the required information to the CNSC and has satisfied the terms of the regulatory request for information. CNSC staff now consider this matter closed.

May 14, 2018

Regulatory action issued to Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission has issued a request for information, pursuant to subsection 12(2) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, to Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL). This request was issued after CNL informed CNSC staff that it was pursuing alternative solutions for water management at the Port Granby Site. These alternatives include the installation of additional storage tanks, procurement of a temporary water treatment unit, and a possible planned release of untreated water at Port Granby Site.

The licensee was instructed to conduct an analysis of the mitigation and compensatory measures under consideration. The licensee has responded to the request and CNSC staff are in the process of reviewing the response.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the letter

2017

September 15, 2017

Update on regulatory action issued to Canadian Nuclear Laboratories

On September 15, 2017, the CNSC confirmed that Canadian Nuclear Laboratories had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on July 7. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

July 13, 2017

Order issued to Canadian Nuclear Laboratories Limited

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on July 7, 2017 to Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL). The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection at the company’s Port Hope, Ontario location. The inspection occurred as a result of an event reported by the licensee indicating an uncontrolled release of untreated water from a collection pond on the Port Hope Project’s licensed site. The inspection identified deficiencies in CNL’s emergency preparedness for offsite releases and contingency planning for storing untreated water.

The order requires the licensee to ensure its emergency preparedness measures are available to mitigate accidental releases of untreated water from the licensed site. The licensee must also review its water management plans and program, to ensure adequate storage capacity is available to prevent the release of radiological and nuclear and/or hazardous substances from the licensed site.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire — Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et de ses règlements d'application, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) peut prendre des mesures réglementaires à divers niveaux, afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

21 juin 2018

Mise à jour sur la demande visant CNL

CNL a fourni à la CCSN les renseignements requis et a satisfait aux modalités de la mesure réglementaire prise à son égard. Le personnel de la CCSN considère l’affaire comme étant close.

14 mai 2018

Mesure réglementaire signifiée aux Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens

Conformément au paragraphe 12(2) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a envoyé une requête aux Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC) visant à obtenir de l’information. La demande a été envoyée après que les LNC aient signalé au personnel de la CCSN, qu’ils adopteraient des solutions de rechange pour la gestion de l’eau au site de Port Granby. Ces solutions incluent l’installation de réservoirs de stockage supplémentaires, l’acquisition d’une unité de traitement d’eau temporaire ainsi que la possibilité de prévoir un rejet d’eau non traitée au site de Port Granby.

On a donné instruction au titulaire de permis de réaliser une analyse des mesures d’atténuation et des mesures compensatoires qu’il envisage de prendre. Le titulaire de permis a répondu à la requête et le personnel de la CCSN révise actuellement la réponse.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire la lettre

2017

15 septembre 2017

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre des Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens

Le 15 septembre 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que le titulaire de permis s'était conformé à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 7 juillet. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

13 juillet 2017

Ordre délivré aux Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens Limitée

Aujourd’hui, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 7 juillet 2017 aux Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens (LNC). L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site de l’entreprise à Port Hope (Ontario). L’inspection a eu lieu à la suite d’un événement signalé par le titulaire de permis comme quoi il y avait eu un rejet non contrôlé d’eau non traitée provenant d’un bassin collecteur de l’installation autorisé du projet de Port Hope. L’inspection a permis de relever des lacunes dans les mesures de préparation aux situations d’urgence liées aux rejets hors site et dans la planification d’urgence pour le stockage d’eau non traitée.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis renforce ses mesures de préparation aux situations d’urgence pour atténuer les rejets accidentels d’eau non traitée du site autorisé. Il doit aussi examiner ses plans et son programme de gestion de l’eau pour veiller à avoir une capacité de stockage suffisante pour prévenir le rejet de substances radiologiques, nucléaires ou dangereuses du site autorisé.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé des travailleurs et le public et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l'ordre (PDF)

Dernière mise à jour :