Regulatory action – Best Theratronics Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2015

November 17, 2015

Update on regulatory action issued to Best Theratronics Ltd.

On November 17, 2015, the CNSC confirmed that Best Theratronics Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on October 6, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

October 6, 2015

Today, the CNSC announced it had issued an order to Best Theratronics Ltd. (Best Theratronics), a company based in Ottawa, ON. The company currently holds a Class 1B Nuclear Substance Processing Facility Operating Licence authorizing the operation of cyclotrons, a nuclear substance processing facility, and a radioactive source teletherapy machine.

The order was issued on October 6, 2015, after CNSC review of a fire hazard analysis submitted by Best Theratronics as a requirement of their licence. CNSC staff subsequently inspected the site and found non-compliances with the National Fire Code of Canada (NFC) with respect to a dust collector machine in the carpentry shop.

The order requires Best Theratronics to cease operation of the dust collector and to ensure that it complies with the NFC prior to future use. CNSC staff will inspect the Best Theratronics facility to ensure that the conditions in the order have been met.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers and the public.

August 25, 2015

Order to Best Theratronics Ltd.

On August 24, 2015, the CNSC issued an order to Best Theratronics Ltd. (Best Theratronics), a company based in Ottawa, ON, that manufactures external beam therapy units and self-contained blood irradiators. The company currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, use, management, storage, transfer, import, export and disposal of nuclear substances and prescribed equipment.

The order was issued following Best Theratronics’ failure to comply with the licence condition of Commission-issued licence NSPOFL- 14.01/2019 that imposes requirements on Best Theratronics to provide an acceptable financial guarantee by July 31, 2015.

The order requires the licensee to dispose of or transfer all depleted uranium, sealed sources and prescribed equipment in its possession, cease all imports and increases to its current inventory of sealed sources and prescribed equipment containing radioactive sources or depleted uranium, and limit the operation of particle accelerators. Best Theratronics is also required to report monthly to the CNSC on the disposal status and provide the CNSC with a revised preliminary decommissioning plan and financial guarantee update.

The CNSC has imposed these measures to protect the health and safety of workers and the public, as well as the environment.

2012

July 26, 2012

Update on regulatory action issued to Best Theratronics Ltd.

On July 26, 2012, the CNSC confirmed that Best Theratronics Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued to this company on July 6. The corrective measures implemented by Best Theratronics Ltd. were reviewed and found satisfactory by CNSC staff.

July 11, 2012

Order to Best Theratronics Ltd.

On July 11, 2012, the CNSC announced it had issued an order to Best Theratronics Ltd. on July 6. The order was issued because the company had been conducting unauthorized nuclear activities involving a high-risk radioactive sealed source.

The order requires Best Theratronics Ltd. to immediately cease all imports, exports and transfers of all nuclear substances and prescribed equipment until it carries out effective remedial measures to the satisfaction of the CNSC.

The order was issued after Best Theratronics failed to comply with the conditions of its CNSC licence. These conditions relate to the export of a high-risk sealed source to New Zealand, and were put in place as part of Canada's international obligations under the International Atomic Energy Agency Code of Conduct on the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources.

The conduct of unauthorized activities by Best Theratronics Ltd. poses an unreasonable risk to national security, the environment and the health and safety of persons and does not allow the CNSC to meet its international obligations pursuant to the Code.

Mesure réglementaire – Best Theratronics Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2015

Novembre 17, 2015

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Best Theratronics Ltd.

Le 17 novembre 2015, la CCSN a confirmé que Best Theratronics Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 6 octobre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

6 octobre 2015

La CCSN a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre à Best Theratronics Ltd. (Best Theratronics), une entreprise établie à Ottawa (Ontario). L’entreprise possède actuellement un permis d’exploitation d’une installation de traitement de substances nucléaires de catégorie 1B qui l’autorise à exploiter des cyclotrons, une installation de traitement des substances nucléaires ainsi qu’un appareil de téléthérapie à source radioactive.

L’ordre a été délivré le 6 octobre 2015 à la suite de l’examen de la CCSN portant sur une analyse des risques d’incendie soumise par Best Theratronics comme l’exige son permis. Le personnel de la CCSN a ensuite inspecté le site et relevé des non-conformités au Code national de prévention des incendies du Canada (CNPI) concernant un dépoussiéreur dans l’atelier de menuiserie.

L’ordre exige que Best Theratronics cesse d’utiliser le dépoussiéreur et qu’elle se conforme au CNPI avant de réutiliser l’appareil. Le personnel de la CCSN inspectera l’installation de Best Theratronics pour vérifier que les conditions de l’ordre ont été respectées.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public.

25 août 2015

Le 24 août 2015, la CCSN a délivré un ordre à Best Theratronics Ltd. (Best Theratronics), une entreprise établie à Ottawa (Ontario) qui produit des appareils de radiothérapie externe et des irradiateurs sanguins autonomes. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à utiliser, à gérer, à stocker, à transférer, à importer, à exporter et à éliminer des substances nucléaires et de l’équipement réglementé.

L’ordre a été délivré puisque Best Theratronics a été incapable de respecter les conditions du permis délivré par la Commission (NSPOFL- 14.01/2019) qui l’oblige à fournir une garantie financière avant le 31 juillet 2015.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis procède à l’élimination ou au transfert de tous les stocks d’uranium appauvri, de sources scellées et d’appareils réglementés en sa possession; de cesser d’accroître ses stocks de sources scellées et d’équipement réglementé contenant des sources radioactives ou de l’uranium appauvri et d’arrêter de les importer; et de limiter son utilisation d’accélérateurs de particules. Best Theratronics doit aussi présenter des rapports mensuels à la CCSN sur les progrès à l’égard de l’élimination et lui fournir un plan préliminaire de déclassement et une garantie financière à jour.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

2012

26 juillet 2012

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Best Theratronics Ltd.

Le 26 juillet 2012, la CCSN a confirmé que Best Theratronics Ltd. s'est conformée à toutes les modalités et conditions de l'ordre qui lui a été délivré le 6 juillet. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

11 juillet 2012

Ordre délivré à Best Theratronics Ltd.

Le 11 juillet 2012, la CCSN a annoncé qu'elle avait délivré un ordre à Best Theratronics Ltd., le 6 juillet, car l'entreprise réalisait des activités nucléaires non autorisées comprenant notamment l'utilisation d'une source scellée radioactive à risque élevé.

L'ordre oblige Best Theratronics Ltd. à cesser immédiatement toute importation, exportation et transfert de substances nucléaires et d'équipement réglementé jusqu'à ce qu'elle prenne des mesures correctives efficaces qui seront à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

La CCSN a délivré un ordre à Best Theratronics Ltd., car celle-ci n'a pas respecté les conditions de son permis en ce qui concerne l'exportation d'une source scellée à risque élevé vers la Nouvelle-Zélande. Ces conditions ont été imposées dans le cadre des obligations internationales du Canada prévues dans le Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique.

La réalisation d'activités non autorisées par Best Theratronics Ltd. représente un risque déraisonnable pour la sécurité nationale, pour l'environnement ainsi que pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes, et empêche la CCSN de respecter ses obligations internationales prévues dans le Code.