Regulatory action – Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2015

January 29, 2015

Update on the administrative monetary penalty (AMP) issued to Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

On January 29, 2015, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd. on January 28, 2015 has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

January 28, 2015

Order and AMP issued to Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

On January 28, 2015, the CNSC announced that it had issued an order to Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd., a company based in Cambridge, Ontario, which provides testing services to the industrial sector. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s location in Melville, Saskatchewan. The CNSC inspector observed that the company was unable to demonstrate that the exposure devices in use at this location were being maintained in accordance with the devices’ manufacturer’s specifications and the CNSC licence conditions.

The order prohibited Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd. from using two of its exposure devices until the company performed the required maintenance on the devices, including their various accessories.

The company has since complied with the order.

The licensee was also issued an AMP in the amount of $7930.00. The licensee demonstrated negligence in resolving the non-compliance items identified during the inspection, which is in violation of paragraph 48(f) of the NSCA (failure to assist or give information requested by an inspector).

Mesure réglementaire – Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2015

29 janvier 2015

Mise à jour au sujet de la sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) imposée à Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

Le 29 janvier 2015, la CCSN a confirmé que Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd. a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée le 28 janvier. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

28 janvier 2015

Ordre et SAP imposés à Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd.

Le 28 janvier 2015, la CCSN a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre à Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd., une entreprise établie à Cambridge (Ontario), qui fournit des services d’essai au secteur industriel. Elle est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser les substances nucléaires contenues dans les appareils de gammagraphie industrielle servant à la mise à l’essai des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré le à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à Melville (Saskatchewan). L’inspectrice a constaté que l’entreprise était incapable de démontrer que les appareils d’exposition utilisés dans ce lieu étaient entretenus conformément aux spécifications du fabricant et aux conditions du permis de la CCSN.

L’ordre interdit à Babcock & Wilcox Canada Ltd. d’utiliser deux de ses appareils d’exposition jusqu’à ce que l’entreprise effectue l’entretien nécessaire des appareils et des accessoires.

L’entreprise s’est depuis conformée à l’ordre.

La CCSN a aussi imposé une SAP de 7 930,00 $ au titulaire de permis. Celui-ci a fait preuve de négligence en omettant de régler les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection, et a ainsi contrevenu à l’alinéa 48f) de la LSRN (omission d’aider un inspecteur ou de lui donner les renseignements qu’il lui demande).