Regulatory action – Arthon Industries Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

November 8, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Arthon Industries Ltd.

On November 8, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Arthon Industries Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on August 18, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 18, 2016

Order issued to Arthon Industries Ltd.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on August 18, 2016 to Arthon Industries Ltd., a company based in Kelowna, BC that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s location in Kelowna, BC. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the implementation and oversight of the licensee’s radiation protection program at the location. The inspection also identified a number of non-compliances related to the transport of portable nuclear gauges.

The order requires the licensee to return all portable gauges to secure storage until the licensee can demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the CNSC, that the radiation protection program has been effectively implemented, all workers have been adequately trained in the transport of nuclear substances, and all items of non-compliance identified during the inspection have been satisfactorily corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Arthon Industries Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

8 novembre 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre d’Arthon Industries Ltd.

Le 8 novembre 2016, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Arthon Industries Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 18 août 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

18 août 2016

Ordre délivré à Arthon Industries Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 18 août 2016 à Arthon Industries Ltd., une entreprise établie à Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN au site de l’entreprise situé à Kelowna (C.-B.). Des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis ont été relevés sur le site. L’inspection a également permis de relever un certain nombre de cas de non-conformité liés au transport des jauges nucléaires portatives.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis entrepose en sécurité toutes les jauges portatives jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que le programme de radioprotection a été mis en œuvre efficacement, que tous les travailleurs ont reçu une formation adéquate sur le transport de substances nucléaires et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés pendant l’inspection ont été corrigés de manière satisfaisante.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.