Regulatory action – AREVA

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

September 26, 2016

Update on the request for action to AREVA

AREVA has provided the required information to the CNSC and has satisfied the terms of the regulatory request for action issued on March 17, 2015. CNSC staff now consider this matter closed.

2015

March 17, 2015

CNSC request for action to AREVA

CNSC request for action to AREVA On March 17, 2015, the CNSC announced it had issued a request for action, pursuant to subsection 12(2) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, to Cameco and AREVA. Both companies hold CNSC licences to operate uranium mills.

The request was issued after Cameco reported two events at its Key Lake uranium mill involving the unplanned release of calcined yellowcake (uranium dust) into the work environment.

In both events, workers were exposed to calcined uranium product resulting in weekly action level exceedances. The resulting exposures for both events were well below regulatory limits. While CNSC staff are satisfied with the immediate actions taken by Cameco, the CNSC is concerned by the similarities between the events and wants to ensure that such events are effectively prevented or mitigated through a lessons-learned approach at all operating uranium mills.

2012

July 12, 2012

CNSC request for information to AREVA Resources Canada

On July 12, 2012, the CNSC announced that a request for information had been issued under subsection 12(2) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, to AREVA's uranium milling operations. Following a uranium contamination event at Cameco's Blind River Refinery on June 23, 2012, the CNSC is requesting that all Canadian uranium mills review their operations and take a number of actions to minimize any potential for increased risks posed by the unintentional pressurization of a drum containing yellowcake.

Related links

Mesure réglementaire – AREVA

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

26 septembre 2016

Mise à jour sur la demande visant AREVA

AREVA a fourni à la CCSN les renseignements requis et a satisfait aux modalités de la mesure réglementaire prise à son égard le 17 mars 2015. Le personnel de la CCSN considère l’affaire comme étant close.

2015

17 mars 2015

Requête de la CCSN adressée à AREVA

Le 17 mars 2015, la CCSN a annoncé qu’elle avait demandé à Cameco et AREVA de prendre certaines mesures en vertu du paragraphe 12(2) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Les deux entreprises sont titulaires de permis de la CCSN les autorisant à exploiter une usine de concentration d’uranium.

La requête a été formulée après que Cameco ait signalé deux événements à son usine de Key Lake impliquant le rejet imprévu de yellowcake calciné (poussière d’uranium) dans l’environnement de travail.

Dans les deux cas, des travailleurs ont été exposés au produit d’uranium calciné, ce qui a entraîné des dépassements du seuil d’intervention hebdomadaire. Les expositions qui ont découlé des deux incidents étaient bien inférieures aux limites réglementaires. Bien que le personnel de la CCSN soit satisfait des mesures immédiates prises par Cameco, la CCSN est préoccupée par les similitudes entre les incidents et veut s’assurer que de tels événements sont prévenus ou atténués efficacement en mettant en pratique les leçons tirées dans toutes les usines de concentration d’uranium en exploitation.

2012

12 juillet 2012

Demande d'information de la CCSN présentée à AREVA Resources Canada

Le 12 juillet 2012, la CCSN a annoncé qu'une demande d'information avait été présentée aux usines de concentration d'uranium d'AREVA en vertu du paragraphe 12(2) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. À la suite d'un incident de contamination à l'uranium survenu à la raffinerie de Blind River de Cameco le 23 juin 2012, la CCSN demande que toutes les usines de concentration d'uranium du Canada passent en revue leurs opérations et prennent des mesures pour réduire au minimum la possibilité d'augmentation du risque posé par la mise sous pression involontaire des fûts de yellowcake.

Liens connexes