Regulatory action – High Precision Monitoring & Analysis ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

September 23, 2019

Order issued to High Precision Monitoring & Analysis Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to High Precision Monitoring & Analysis Ltd., a company based in Delta, British Columbia. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of X-ray fluorescence (XRF) analyzers for the purposes of determining the elemental composition of materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s Delta, British Columbia facility. The inspection identified instances of non-compliance with requirements, including the following: failure to carry out licensed activities in accordance with company procedures and regulatory requirements, failure to submit an annual compliance report by the required date, failure to maintain an adequate financial guarantee, and failure to pay the necessary licensing fees.

The order requires the licensee to perform the following actions:

  • cease any operation of its XRF analyzer
  • transfer its XRF analyzer to another person or company authorized by the CNSC to possess such a device
  • provide the CNSC with proof of the transfer no later than October 4 at 09:00 PDT

In addition, the order prohibits the licensee to regain its XRF analyzer or to possess any other radiation device until all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report have been corrected to the CNSC’s satisfaction.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – High Precision Monitoring & Analysis-ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

23 septembre 2019

Ordre délivré à High Precision Monitoring & Analysis Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à High Precision Monitoring & Analysis Ltd., une entreprise établie à Delta (Colombie-Britannique), titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des analyseurs à fluorescence X afin de déterminer la composition élémentaire de matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection menée par la CCSN à l’installation de l’entreprise située à Delta (Colombie-Britannique). L’inspection a permis de déceler des cas de non-conformité aux exigences, notamment les suivantes : les activités ne sont pas menées conformément aux processus de l’entreprise et aux exigences réglementaires, la date d’échéance pour la soumission du rapport annuel de conformité n’est pas respectée, le maintien d’une garantie financière adéquate n’est pas assuré et les droits de permis requis ne sont pas payés.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis prenne les mesures suivantes :

  • cesser toute exploitation de son analyseur à fluorescence X
  • transférer son analyseur à fluorescence X à une autre personne ou à une autre entreprise autorisée par la CCSN à posséder un tel appareil
  • fournir à la CCSN la preuve dudit transfert au plus tard le 4 octobre à 9 h (HAP)

De plus, l’ordre interdit au titulaire de permis de récupérer son analyseur à fluorescence X ou de posséder tout autre appareil à rayonnement jusqu’à ce que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés au cours de l’inspection aient été corrigés à la satisfaction de la CCSN.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)

Dernière mise à jour :