Events Reporting: Uranium Mines and Mills

For the latest information visit:

2017

Cameco

Date of Event: October 10, 2017

Cameco Key Lake was initiating the start-up of their acid plant sulphur furnace when a small propane explosion occurred. The facility safety systems functioned as designed and there were no injuries or measurable impact to the environment. The acid plant produces acid for uranium processing purposes within the Key Lake mill. There are no uranium processes within the acid plant; this event has no radiological association.

Cameco’s Key Lake emergency response team responded appropriately to the event. The CNSC and provincial regulators were notified. Cameco is conducting an investigation into the cause of the event and possible damage to the internal workings of the sulphur furnace.

CNSC staff remain in communication with Cameco with regard to this event and will be provided with a summary of the investigation and corrective actions. For further information, please visit “Environmental Events and Other Events” on the Cameco Key Lake website at:

https://www.cameco.com/businesses/uranium-operations/canada/mcarthur-river-key-lake/environment-safety

Cameco

Date of event: August 12, 2017

The CNSC was informed of a worker who suffered an injury to his hand while installing piping underground at the McArthur River mine. Work was halted and the equipment was taken out of service pending an investigation.

Visit Cameco’s environmental incidents and other events for more information.

Date of event: July 26, 2017

Cigar Lake Mine

The CNSC was informed of an ammonia gas release of approximately 10 lbs inside a refrigeration plant that is part of the ground-freezing system. The refrigeration plant was shut down immediately and placed in a safe state until repairs were made. Other freeze plants at the site were inspected following the incident and no issues were identified.

Visit Cameco’s environmental monitoring Web page for Cigar Lake for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: July 4, 2017

Cigar Lake Mine

The CNSC was informed of a small ammonia gas leak inside a refrigeration plant, which is part of the ground-freezing system at the mine site. No harm was caused to the employees, public or the environment as a result of the incident.

Visit Cameco’s environmental monitoring Web page for Cigar Lake for more information.

Date of event: June 21, 2017

Key Lake Mill

The CNSC was informed of a tractor-trailer unit carrying drummed uranium concentrate entered the ditch on Highway 914 south of the Key Lake mill in northern Saskatchewan. There was no harm to employees, the public or the environment as a result of the incident.

Visit Cameco’s Environment & Safety Web page for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: February 22, 2017

Cigar Lake Mine

The CNSC was informed that approximately 10 lbs of ammonia gas leaked inside a refrigeration plant, which is part of the ground-freezing system at the mine site. No harm was caused to the employees, public or the environment as a result of the incident.

Visit Cameco’s environmental monitoring Web page for Cigar Lake for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: January 22, 2017

McArthur River Mine

The CNSC was informed that a small amount of ore slurry was discovered on a trailer used to transport ore to the Key Lake mill for processing. Other slurry trailers were immediately inspected, and material was observed on five trailers. Testing confirmed that the material was ore slurry. An inspection of the load-out facility was conducted and a leak was found in the slurry delivery piping. There was no release of material during transport.

Visit Cameco’s Environment & Safety Web page for Key Lake for more information.

2016

Cameco

Date of event: November 9, 2016

Cigar Lake Mine

The CNSC was informed that a release of approximately 5 kg of ammonia gas occurred in the surface freeze plant at the Cigar Lake Mine because of an equipment failure. The equipment was safely shut down and repairs were completed.

Visit Cameco’s environmental monitoring Web page for Cigar Lake for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: September 14, 2016

Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill

The CNSC was informed of a release of propane at the Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill. As a precaution, Cameco implemented a number of measures, including having personnel muster at a safe distance. The source of the leak was stopped, and a full inspection of the pump farm was conducted after the incident. An investigation is underway to determine the cause of the pump failure.

Visit Cameco’s environmental monitoring Web page for Rabbit Lake for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: August 29, 2016

Cigar Lake Uranium Mine, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco that a contract worker was injured during an encounter with a wolf at about 12 a.m. on August 29. The worker received medical treatment onsite and was transported to Saskatoon for further treatment. The Cigar Lake operation has implemented measures to ensure the safety of people at the site and has engaged provincial wildlife officers.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: August 26, 2016

Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco on August 26, 2016, in accordance with the regulations and its licence conditions, that an underground pipe had leaked at its Rabbit Lake operation. The pipe, which connected the north drainage ditch pond with the Rabbit Lake In-Pit Tailings Management Facility (RLITMF), broke during decommissioning operations. The leak, containing low-level radium and uranium, occurred within the capture area of the RLITMF. All water released flowed directly to and was captured within the RLITMF. Flow from the pipe was stopped, and repairs were initiated. No impact on the environment is expected as a result of this release.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: August 2, 2016

Key Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and its licence conditions, that a contract worker was found deceased in his living quarters at the Key Lake Mill. Preliminary reports indicate the individual died of natural causes. This unfortunate event will be discussed at a public Commission meeting on June 22 and 23, 2016.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: June 19, 2016

Key Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and its licence conditions, that a contract worker was found deceased in his living quarters at the Key Lake Mill. Preliminary reports indicate the individual died of natural causes. This unfortunate event will be discussed at a public Commission meeting on June 22 and 23, 2016.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: May 31, 2016

Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, that a worker was injured at Cameco's Rabbit Lake operation in Saskatchewan. A contract worker was injured in a fall during planned maintenance work. This was a non-radiological event with no impact to the health and safety of other workers or the environment. CNSC staff are reviewing Cameco's initial reports and corrective actions taken.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

Cameco

Date of event: April 9, 2016

Key Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, that a worker was injured at Cameco's Key Lake Mill in Saskatchewan. A truck driver was seriously injured in a fall from a tank trailer and was flown by air ambulance to Saskatoon to be admitted to hospital. This was a non-radiological event with no impact to the health and safety of other workers or the environment. The cause of the accident is under investigation by Cameco as well as agencies at the federal and provincial levels.

Visit Cameco's website for more information.

2015

Cameco

Date of event: Unknown

Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, of an event at Cameco's Rabbit Lake Operation in northern Saskatchewan involving a fall of rock that was discovered in a tunnel after reopening an inactive area of the Eagle Point mine. Cameco is currently undertaking an assessment of the event. As a precautionary measure, non-essential personnel were removed from the mine and activities were restricted to ensure the safety of mine workers while the condition of the affected area is being assessed. This was a non-radiological event with no impact to health and safety or the environment.

Read Cameco's news release.

AREVA

Date of event: July 16, 2015

McClean Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by AREVA, in accordance with the regulations and its licence conditions, that a worker was injured at AREVA's McClean Lake mill located in northern Saskatchewan. The individual was working on a high temperature dryer when he came in contact with heated uranium product resulting in a minor injury. No uranium was released into the environment as a result of this event. CNSC staff are reviewing AREVA's initial reports and corrective actions taken to prevent a similar occurrence. This event will be discussed at an upcoming public Commission meeting.

Visit AREVA's website for more information on this event.

Cameco

Date of event: July 2015

Key Lake Mill, McArthur River Mine, Cigar Lake Mine, and Rabbit Lake Mine and Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

Cameco update on the Saskatchewan forest fire situation (Source: Cameco)

Visit Cameco's Facebook page for the latest updates on the fire and operations.

Cameco

Date of event: February 16, 2015

Key Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, of an event at its Key Lake Mill involving uranium dust in a plant area normally free of uranium. No uranium was released into the environment as a result of this event. CNSC staff inspected the facility, reviewed Cameco's initial reports, and are satisfied with the corrective actions taken to date. On March 17, the CNSC announced that it had issued a request for action to Cameco and Areva to prevent a similar occurence at other operating mill facilities. This event will be discussed at a public Commission meeting on March 25, 2015. As per the CNSC's requirements for public disclosure, Cameco has posted information regarding this event.

Visit Cameco's website for more information on this event.

Cameco

Date of event: January 14, 2015

Key Lake Mill, Northern Saskatchewan

The CNSC was informed by Cameco, in accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, of an event at its Key Lake Mill involving uranium dust in a plant area normally free of uranium. No uranium was released into the environment as a result of this event. CNSC staff inspected the facility, reviewed Cameco's initial reports, and are satisfied with the corrective actions taken to date. This event was discussed at a public Commission meeting on February 4, 2015.

Visit Cameco's website for more information on this event.

Rapports d'événement : Mines et usines de concentration d'uranium

Pour connaître les dernières nouvelles :

2017

Cameco

Date de l’évènement : 10 octobre 2017

Le 10 octobre 2017, sur le site de l’installation de Key Lake de Cameco, il s’est produit une petite explosion de propane lors de la mise en marche du four à soufre de l’usine de production d’acide. Les systèmes de sûreté de l’usine ont fonctionné comme prévu et il n’y a pas eu de blessure ou d’impact mesurable sur l’environnement. Cette usine produit de l’acide pour le traitement de l’uranium à l’usine de concentration de Key Lake. Puisque l’uranium n’est pas traité dans l’usine de production d’acide, cet événement n’a entraîné aucune conséquence radiologique.

L’équipe d’intervention d’urgence de Cameco a réagi de façon appropriée. La CCSN et les organismes de réglementation provinciaux ont été mis au courant de la situation. Cameco mène une enquête sur la cause de l’événement et les dommages possibles aux pièces intérieures du four à soufre.

Le personnel de la CCSN continue à communiquer avec Cameco à ce sujet, et cette dernière lui fournira un résumé de l’enquête et des mesures correctives. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section «  Environmental Events and Other Events » sur la page Web de l’installation de Key Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement) :

https://www.cameco.com/businesses/uranium-operations/canada/mcarthur-river-key-lake/environment-safety

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 12 août 2017

La CCSN a été informée qu’un employé s’est blessé à une main lors de l’installation de tuyauterie sous terre à la mine de McArthur River. Les travaux ont été arrêtés, et l’équipement a été mis hors service pendant la durée d’une enquête.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site de Cameco sur les incidents environnementaux et autres événements (en anglais seulement).

Date de l’événement : 26 juillet 2017

Mine de Cigar Lake

La CCSN a été informée qu’un rejet de gaz ammoniac (environ 10 lb) s’est produit à l’intérieur d’une installation frigorifique faisant partie du système de congélation du sol. L’installation a été mise à l’arrêt immédiatement et placée dans un état sûr jusqu’à ce que des réparations aient été effectuées. D’autres installations frigorifiques sur le site ont été inspectées après l’incident et aucun problème n’a été décelé.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur la surveillance environnementale de Cigar Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 4 juillet 2017

Mine de Cigar Lake

La CCSN a été informée qu’une petite fuite de gaz ammoniac s’est produite à l’intérieur d’une installation frigorifique sur le site de la mine. L’incident n’a posé aucun danger pour les employés, le public ou l’environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur la surveillance environnementale de Cigar Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 21 juin 2017

Usine de concentration de Key Lake

La CCSN a été informée qu’un camion gros porteur transportant du concentré d’uranium en fûts a dérapé dans un fossé de l’autoroute 914 au sud de l’usine de concentration de Key Lake, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. L’incident n’a posé aucun danger pour les employés, le public ou l’environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur l’environnement et la sûreté de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 22 février 2017

Mine de Cigar Lake

La CCSN a été informée qu’un rejet de gaz ammoniac (environ 10 lb) s’est produit à l’intérieur d’une installation frigorifique faisant partie du système de congélation du sol. L’incident n’a posé aucun danger pour les employés, le public ou l’environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur la surveillance environnementale de Cigar Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 22 janvier 2017

Mine de McArthur River

La CCSN a été informée qu’une petite quantité de boue de minerai avait été découverte sur un camion utilisé pour transporter les boues à l’usine de concentration de Key Lake à des fins de traitement. D’autres camions de transport de boues ont été inspectés immédiatement et des matières ont été découvertes sur cinq d’entre eux. Des tests ont permis de conclure qu’il s’agissait de boues de minerai. Une inspection de l’installation de chargement a été réalisée et une fuite a été découverte dans les tuyaux de livraison des boues de minerai. Il n’y a eu aucun rejet pendant le transport.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur l’environnement et la sûreté pour Key Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

2016

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 9 novembre 2016

Mine de Cigar Lake

La CCSN a été informée qu’un rejet de gaz ammoniac (environ 5 kg) s’est produit à l’installation de congélation en surface de la mine de Cigar Lake en raison de la défaillance d’équipement. L’équipement a été mis à l’arrêt et réparé.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur la surveillance environnementale de Cigar Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 14 septembre 2016

Mine et usine de concentration de Rabbit Lake

La CCSN a été informée d’un rejet de propane à la mine et usine de concentration de Rabbit Lake. Cameco a donc mis en place un certain nombre de mesures de précaution, en demandant notamment au personnel de se rassembler à une distance sécuritaire du lieu de l’incident. La fuite a été arrêtée et une inspection complète des pompes a été réalisée après l’incident. Une enquête est en cours pour déterminer la cause de la défaillance de la pompe.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web sur la surveillance environnementale de Rabbit Lake de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 29 août 2016

Mine d’uranium de Cigar Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’un entrepreneur avait été blessé par un loup le 29 août vers midi. Le travailleur a reçu des soins sur le site et a ensuite été transporté à Saskatoon pour obtenir d’autres soins. Des mesures ont été appliquées sur le site de la mine de Cigar Lake afin d’assurer la sécurité des personnes, et des agents de la faune provinciaux ont été contactés.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 26 août 2016

Mine et usine de concentration de Rabbit Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a avisé la CCSN, le 26 août 2016, d’une fuite d’un tuyau souterrain à l’installation de Rabbit Lake. Le tuyau, qui reliait le fossé de drainage nord et l’installation de gestion des résidus en fosse de Rabbit Lake (IGRFRL), s’est brisé pendant les activités de déclassement. La fuite, qui contenait de faibles niveaux de radium et d’uranium, est survenue dans la zone de captage de l’IGRFRL. Toute l’eau rejetée a coulé vers l’IGRFRL et y a été captée. L’écoulement du tuyau a été interrompu pour en permettre la réparation. Le rejet ne devrait pas avoir de répercussions sur l’environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 2 août 2016

Usine de concentration de Key Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Le 2 août 2016, conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’une fissure avait été détectée sur un tuyau souterrain à son usine de concentration de Key Lake. Cette fissure a entraîné un rejet dans l’environnement de radium et d’uranium de faible activité. Le tuyau a été isolé, et des travaux de réparation sont en cours. Le rejet ne devrait pas avoir d’incidence sur l’environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 19 juin 2016

Usine de concentration de Key Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’un entrepreneur avait été trouvé sans vie dans son local d’habitation à l’usine de concentration de Key Lake. Selon les rapports préliminaires, la personne est décédée de causes naturelles. Cet événement malheureux fera l’objet de discussions à la réunion publique de la Commission des 22 et 23 juin 2016.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 31 mais 2016

Mine et usine de concentration de Rabbit Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’un travailleur s’était blessé à l’installation de Rabbit Lake de Cameco, située en Saskatchewan. Un entrepreneur est tombé en effectuant des travaux d’entretien prévus. Il s’agit d’un événement non radiologique et il n’y a eu aucune incidence sur la santé et la sécurité d’autres travailleurs ou sur l’environnement. Le personnel de la CCSN examine les rapports initiaux de Cameco ainsi que les mesures correctives prises par l’entreprise.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 9 avril 2016

Usine de concentration de Key Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’un travailleur s’était blessé à l’usine de concentration de Key Lake de Cameco, située en Saskatchewan. Un chauffeur de camion a été gravement blessé en tombant d’une remorque-citerne et il a été transporté par ambulance aérienne à un hôpital de Saskatoon. Il s’agit d’un événement non radiologique et il n’y a eu aucune incidence sur la santé et la sécurité d’autres travailleurs ou sur l’environnement. La cause de l’accident fait l’objet d’une enquête par Cameco ainsi que par des autorités fédérales et provinciales.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

2015

AREVA

Date de l’événement : 16 juillet 2015

Usine de concentration de McClean Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

AREVA a signalé à la CCSN, conformément à la réglementation pertinente et à ses conditions de permis, qu’un travailleur s’était blessé à l’usine de McClean Lake d’AREVA située au nord de la Saskatchewan. La personne travaillait avec un sécheur à haute température quand elle a été blessée par un produit d’uranium chauffé. Il n’y a eu aucun rejet d’uranium dans l’environnement à la suite de cet incident. Le personnel de la CCSN examine les rapports initiaux d’AREVA et les mesures prises pour empêcher que la situation ne se reproduise. Cet incident fera l’objet d’une discussion à une prochaine réunion publique de la Commission.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).

Cameco

Date de l’événement : Juillet 2015

Usine de concentration de Key Lake, mine de McArthur River, mine de Cigar Lake, et mine et usine de concentration de Rabbit Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Cameco fait le point sur les feux de forêt en Saskatchewan (en anglais seulement). (Source : Cameco)

Consultez la page Facebook(en anglais seulement) de Cameco pour obtenir les dernières nouvelles sur les feux et les opérations connexes.

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 16 février 2015

Usine de concentration de Key Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément aux règlements et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a signalé à la CCSN qu’un événement s’était produit à l’usine de concentration de Key Lake : de la poussière d’uranium s’est infiltrée dans une zone où il n’y en a normalement pas. La situation n’a entraîné aucun rejet d’uranium dans l’environnement. Le personnel de la CCSN a effectué une inspection de l’installation et a examiné les premiers rapports de Cameco, et il est satisfait des mesures prises jusqu’à présent pour corriger la situation. Le 17 mars, la CCSN a annoncé qu’elle avait demandé à Cameco et Areva de prendre certaines mesures pour prévenir qu’un événement semblable se produise dans les usines de concentration en exploitation. L’événement fera l’objet de discussions à la réunion publique de la Commission du 25 mars 2015.

Pour respecter les exigences de la CCSN relatives à la divulgation publique, Cameco a affiché de l’information concernant l’événement sur son site Web.

Cameco

Date de l’événement : 14 janvier 2015

Usine de concentration de Key Lake (Nord de la Saskatchewan)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, Cameco a avisé la CCSN qu’à son usine de concentration de Key Lake, de l’uranium a été trouvé dans une section de l’installation qui ne contient normalement pas d’uranium. Il n’y a eu aucun rejet d’uranium dans l’environnement. Le personnel de la CCSN a effectué une inspection de l’installation et a examiné les premiers rapports de Cameco, et il est satisfait des mesures prises jusqu’à présent pour corriger la situation. L’événement a fait l’objet de discussions à la réunion publique de la Commission du 4 février 2015.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de Cameco (en anglais seulement).