Events Reporting: Radiation Device Licensees

2018

Notification of stolen portable gauge

Date of event: October 23, 2018

On October 23, 2018, a Troxler 4640b moisture density gauge was reported as stolen from a construction site in Saint-Henri-de-Taillon, near Alma, Quebec. A police report was filed with the local police force. The device was stored in a yellow Type A package and contains the nuclear substance Cs-137 with an activity of 296 MBq. The device contains a sealed source that is categorized as Category 4 based on internationally established standards, which means that the radioactive material is considered low risk and unlikely to be dangerous.

On October 23, the portable gauge was recovered.

Corrective actions are being taken by the licensee to retrain all staff on security and notifications procedures.

Troxler 4640b moisture-density gauge

Radiation device description:

Troxler 4640b moisture-density gauge
Serial no. 1434
Cs-137 – 296 MBq (Serial number 75-5423)

Notification of stolen portable gauge

Date of event: October 12, 2018

On October 12, 2018, it was discovered that a Troxler model 3440+ portable density gauge, serial number 69988, was stolen from a pickup truck parked overnight at a residence in Fort McMurray, AB. The incident was reported to the local RCMP. This device contains the nuclear substances Am-241/Be with an activity of 1,480 MBq and Cs-137 with an activity of 296 MBq. It is categorized as Category 4 or low risk and unlikely to be dangerous based on internationally established standards.

On October 16, the portable gauge was recovered. The shutter was closed and no external damage was noted.

Immediate corrective actions were taken by the licensee, including reinforcement of the process whereby portable gauges are not to be stored in technician vehicles overnight.

Notification of stolen portable gauge

Date of event: August 20, 2018

On August 20, 2018, a Troxler 3440 portable density gauge was reported as stolen from a construction site in Saint-Leonard, Quebec. A police report has been filed with the local police force. This device contains the nuclear substances Am-241/Be with an activity of 1,480 MBq and Cs-137 with an activity of 300 MBq. It is categorized as Category 4 based on internationally established standards, which means that the radioactive material is considered low risk and unlikely to be dangerous. The device does not pose a hazard as long as it is not tampered with or damaged.

Update: On September 1, 2018, the portable gauge was recovered. The licensee notified the CNSC on September 4, 2018.

Troxler 3440 surface moisture-monitoring gauge

Radiation device description:

Troxler 3440 surface moisture-density gauge
Serial no. 36656
Cs-137 – 300 MBq (sealed source serial no. 7512-634)
Am-241/Be – 1,480 Mbq (sealed source no. 78-1483)

Dose limit exceedance for a radiographer in Grande Prairie, Alberta

Date of event: January 30, 2018

On January 30, 2018, 20/20 ND Technologies Inc. reported to the CNSC, as required, about the potential for an exposure device operator to have received an effective dose of greater than 150 mSv. The company, located in Grande Prairie, Alberta, is licensed by the CNSC to conduct licensed activities (operations involving industrial radiography) throughout Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

In response to the reported overexposure, the licensee took the actions required by section 16 of the Radiation Protection Regulations : It removed the employee from work that could have added to the dose received, notified the CNSC of the dosimetry result, and performed an investigation to determine the cause of the exposure.

The CNSC is in contact with the licensee to ensure that appropriate follow-up actions are taken.

2017

FCE Materials Testing Inc.

Date of event: Between 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, September 30 and
12:00 p.m. on Sunday, October 1, 2017

CNSC licensee FCE Materials Testing Inc. reported to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission the theft of a portable nuclear gauge containing Cs-137, a category 4 sealed source. The device was stolen while it was stored in its type A package overnight in a company vehicle in the Liberty Village area of Toronto.

The Toronto Police Service has been notified. The gauge has not been recovered. The portable gauge does not pose a hazard as long as it is not tampered with or damaged.

For more information on category 4 sealed sources, visit the CNSC’s sealed source tracking page.

Type A package

The device was stored in a yellow box, classified as a Type A package – 81 cm (32") length x 43 cm (17") width x 46 cm (18") height. The portable gauge is about the size of a shoebox, with an electronic keypad and a metal handle extending from the top.

Radiation device description:
HUMBOLDT – 5001-P
Serial No. 1073

Manufacturer: QSA GLOBAL
Cs-137 – 370 MBq (sealed source serial number 501110)
Am-241/Be – 1480 MBq (sealed source serial number 477640)

2016

Cave Inspection Ltd.

Date of event: August 3, 2016

Cave Inspection Ltd. reported to the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) that it had lost a Sentinel Delta 880 radiographic exposure device on the evening of Wednesday, August 3, 2016 along a highway in Alberta. The licensee recovered the device the next day on August 4, 2016. CNSC packaging requirements for this type of device are designed to withstand extreme drops, fire and direct impacts. Therefore, the device was in safe condition to be transported back to a secure storage location for inspection. There was no impact to members of the public or the environment, and the CNSC was in constant contact with the licensee and local response authorities to ensure that appropriate follow up actions were taken.

West Fraser Mill Ltd.

Date of event: March 9, 2016

CNSC licensee West Fraser Mill Ltd. notified the CNSC of a fire at their Quesnel, BC mill occurring at 17:30 MST on March 9, 2016. Six nuclear gauges containing Cs–137, used for routine monitoring of industrial processes in the mill, were in the vicinity of the fire. An inspection and radiation survey of the gauges by the licensee indicates that the sources are intact and that the gauges were not damaged by the fire or heat. Pursuant to regulations, the gauges will be leak tested before being put back into service. The licensee appears to have properly implemented the emergency response provisions of the radiation safety manual referenced in its CNSC licence. CNSC staff are therefore satisfied that there is adequate protection for the environment and the health and safety of all persons.

 

Date modified:

Rapports d'événement : Titulaires de permis d'appareils à rayonnement

2018

Avis concernant le vol d’une jauge portative

Date du vol : 23 octobre 2018

Le 23 octobre 2018, une jauge d’humidité et de densité portative de marque Troxler 4640b a été déclarée volée d’un chantier de construction dans Saint Henri de Taillon, près d’Alma, au Québec. L’appareil était entreposé dans un colis de transport de type A de couleur jaune. L’incident a été rapporté au service de police local. Cet appareil contient une substance nucléaire de Cs 137 ayant une activité de 296 MBq. L’appareil contient une source radioactive scellée de catégorie 4, selon les normes internationales, ce qui signifie que les matières radioactives présentent un faible risque et sont peu susceptibles d’être dangereuses.

La jauge portative a été retrouvée le 23 octobre.

Des mesures correctives sont prises par le titulaire de permis afin de dispenser à tous les employés une formation de recyclage sur les procédures de sécurité et de notification.

Troxler 4640b moisture-density gauge

Description de l’appareil à rayonnement :

Jauge d’humidité et de densité de marque Troxler 4640b
No de série : 1434
Cs-137 – 296 mBq (no de série : 75-5423)

Avis concernant le vol d’une jauge portative

Date du vol : 12 octobre 2018

Le 12 octobre 2018, on a découvert qu’une jauge de densité portative Troxler, modèle 3440+ et numéro de série 69988, a été volée d’une camionnette stationnée toute la nuit devant une résidence de Fort McMurray, Alberta. Le vol a été signalé aux agents de la GRC de l’endroit. L’appareil contient les substances nucléaires suivantes : Am-241/Be, dont l’activité est de 1 480 MBq, et Cs-137, dont l’activité est de 296 MBq. Il est classé dans la catégorie 4 (faible risque) et il est peu susceptible d’être dangereux selon les normes établies à l’échelle internationale.

Le 16 octobre, la jauge portative a été retrouvée. L’obturateur était fermé et aucun dommage externe n’a été noté.

Le titulaire de permis a pris des mesures correctives immédiates, notamment le renforcement du processus selon lequel les techniciens ne doivent pas entreposer des jauges portatives toute la nuit dans leurs véhicules.

Avis concernant le vol d’une jauge portative

Date de l’événement : 20 août 2018

Le 20 août 2018, une jauge de densité portative de marque Troxler 3440 a été déclarée volée d’un chantier de construction dans l’arrondissement de Saint-Léonard (Québec). Cet incident a été rapporté au service de police local. Cet appareil contient les substances nucléaires suivantes : Am-241/Be ayant une activité de 1 480 MBq et Cs-137 ayant une activité de 300 MBq. L’appareil est classé dans la catégorie 4 selon des normes internationales, ce qui signifie que les matières radioactives présentent un faible risque et qu’elles sont peu susceptibles d’être dangereuses. La jauge ne présente aucun danger tant qu’elle n’est pas trafiquée ou endommagée.

Mise à jour : Le 1er septembre 2018, la jauge portative a été récupérée. Le titulaire de permis en a avisé la CCSN le 4 septembre 2018.

Jauge de mesure d’humidité et de densité de surface de marque Troxler 3440

Description de l’appareil à rayonnement :

Jauge de mesure d’humidité et de densité de surface de marque Troxler 3440
No de série : 36656
Cs-137 – 300 MBq (numéro de série de la source scellée : 7512-634)
Am-241/Be – 1 480 MBq (numéro de série de la source scellée : 78-1483)

Dépassement de la limite de dose chez un radiographe à Grande Prairie, en Alberta

Date de l’événement : 30 janvier 2018

Le 30 janvier 2018, 20/20 ND Technologies Inc. a signalé à la CCSN, conformément aux exigences, qu’un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition aurait reçu une dose efficace de plus de 150 mSv. L’entreprise, située à Grande Prairie (Alberta), détient un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à mener des activités autorisées (activités de gammagraphie industrielle) en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba.

En réponse à la surexposition signalée, le titulaire de permis a pris les mesures exigées en vertu de l’article 16 du Règlement sur la radioprotection : il a retiré l’employé de fonctions susceptibles d’augmenter la dose reçue, a avisé la CCSN du résultat de dosimétrie, et a mené une enquête pour déterminer la cause de l’exposition.

La CCSN est en contact avec le titulaire de permis afin de veiller à ce que les mesures de suivi appropriées soient prises.

2017

FCE Materials Testing Inc.

Date de l’événement : Entre le samedi 30 septembre, 19 h, et le dimanche 1er octobre 2017, 12 h

Le titulaire de permis FCE Materials Testing Inc. a signalé à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) le vol d’une jauge nucléaire portative contenant du césium 137, une source scellée de catégorie 4. L’appareil a été volé alors qu’il était entreposé pour la nuit dans un colis de type A à l’intérieur d’un véhicule de l’entreprise près du Liberty Village, à Toronto.

Le service de police de Toronto a été informé du vol. La jauge n’a toujours pas été retrouvée et ne présente aucun danger tant qu’elle n’est pas trafiquée ou endommagée.

Pour en savoir plus sur les sources scellées de catégorie 4, visitez la page de la CCSN sur le suivi des sources scellées.

Colis de type A

L’appareil était entreposé dans un contenant jaune, catégorisé comme un colis de type A : 81 cm (32 po) de longueur, 43 cm (17 po) de largeur et 46 cm (18 po) de hauteur. La taille de la jauge portative est similaire à celle d’une boîte à chaussure. La jauge est assortie d’un clavier électronique et d’une poignée en métal partant du dessus de l’appareil.

Description de l’appareil à rayonnement :
HUMBOLDT – 5001-P
No de série : 1073

Fabricant : QSA GLOBAL
Cs-137 – 370 MBq (numéro de série de la source scellée : 501110)
Am-241/Be – 1 480 MBq (numéro de série de la source scellée : 477640)

2016

Cave Inspection Ltd.

Date de l'événement : 3 août 2016

Cave Inspection Ltd. a signalé à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) qu'elle avait perdu un appareil de gammagraphie industrielle Sentinel Delta 880 le long d'une autoroute en Alberta le soir du mercredi 3 août 2016. L'appareil a été récupéré par le titulaire de permis le 4 août 2016. Les exigences de la CCSN stipulent que les colis pour le transport de tels appareils doivent résister aux chutes extrêmes, aux incendies et aux impacts directs. Par conséquent, l'appareil a pu être transporté en sécurité à un lieu d'entreposage sûr. Il n'y a eu aucun impact sur les membres du public ou sur l'environnement.

La CCSN était en contact continu avec le titulaire de permis et les autorités locales d'intervention pour veiller à ce que des mesures de suivi appropriées soient prises.

West Fraser Mill Ltd.

Date de l'événement : 9 mars 2016

Le titulaire de permis West Fraser Mill Ltd. a informé la CCSN d'un incendie survenu le 9 mars 2016, à 17 h 30 HNR, à son usine de Quesnel (Colombie-Britannique). Six jauges nucléaires contenant du césium 137 utilisé pour les vérifications de routine des processus à l'usine se trouvaient à proximité du lieu de l'incendie. Une inspection et un contrôle radiologique des jauges réalisés par le titulaire de permis ont démontré que les sources sont intactes et que les jauges n'ont pas été endommagées par le feu ou la chaleur. Conformément à la réglementation, les jauges seront soumises à des essais d'étanchéité avant de pouvoir être remises en service. Le titulaire de permis semble avoir pris immédiatement les mesures d'intervention d'urgence établies dans le manuel de radioprotection mentionné dans le permis délivré par la CCSN.

Par conséquent, le personnel de la CCSN considère que l'environnement, la santé et la sécurité des personnes sont adéquatement protégés.

 

 

Dernière mise à jour :