Events Reporting: Nuclear Substance Processing Facilities

For the latest information visit:

2016

SRB Technologies (Canada) Inc. (SRBT)

Date of event: November 28, 2016

Nuclear substance processing facility, Pembroke, Ontario

The CNSC was informed by SRBT that a trailer containing expired safety signs was stolen as it was being shipped from the US to its facility in Pembroke, Ontario. The police have been notified, and the investigation is currently ongoing. The signs were contained in packages that meet all applicable regulations. During normal conditions of transport and use, there is no anticipated risk to the public or the environment due to the transport of this material. Visit SRBT's website for more information.

Update: The truck was recovered on December 15, 2016, and all contents were accounted for. There were no signs of tampering with the items. Read SRBT's full report on the event.

SRB Technologies (Canada) Inc. (SRBT)

Date of event: June 1, 2016

Nuclear substance processing facility, Pembroke, Ontario

In accordance with the regulations and their licence conditions, SRBT informed the CNSC of the activation of a fire alarm at their facility. The alarm was activated as a result of smoke originating from a malfunctioning compressor. The Pembroke Fire Department responded to the alarm and verified that there was no fire.

Visit SRBT's website for more information.

2015

Nordion (Canada) Ltd.

Date of event: August 6, 2015

Nuclear substance processing facility, Kanata, Ontario

The CNSC was informed by Nordion (Canada) Inc., in accordance with the regulations and Nordion's licence conditions, of a fire in the operations building at its Kanata facility. The building was evacuated and Ottawa Fire Services quickly had the fire under control. This was a non-radiological event with no injuries and no impact to worker and public health and safety or the local environment. A CNSC inspector is on site and will continue to monitor the situation. Nordion processes nuclear substances (radioisotopes) for medical and industrial applications. This event will be discussed at a Commission hearing on August 19, 2015. As per the CNSC's requirements for public disclosure, Nordion has posted information regarding this event.

Visit Nordion's website for more information.

Rapports d'événement : Installations de traitement des substances nucléaires

Pour connaître les dernières nouvelles :

2016

SRB Technologies (Canada) Inc. (SRBT)

Date de l'événement : 28 novembre 2016

Installation de traitement des substances nucléaires, Pembroke (Ontario)

SRBT a signalé à la CCSN le vol d'une remorque transportant des panneaux de sécurité obsolètes lors de son transport des États-Unis vers son installation de Pembroke (Ontario). Les services de police ont été avertis et une enquête est en cours. Les panneaux se trouvaient dans des conteneurs qui respectaient tous les règlements applicables. En conditions normales de transport et d'utilisation de matériel, il n'y a aucun risque prévu pour les membres du public ou l'environnement.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site Web de SRBT (en anglais seulement).

Mise à jour : La remorque a été retrouvée le 15 décembre 2016. Aucun conteneur ne manquait, et ils ne présentaient aucun signe d'altération.

Lire le rapport complet de SRBT sur cet événement (en anglais seulement).

SRB Technologies (Canada) Inc. (SRBT)

Date de l'événement : 1er juin 2016

Installation de traitement des substances nucléaires, Pembroke (Ontario)

Conformément à la réglementation et aux conditions de son permis, SRBT a signalé à la CCSN qu'un avertisseur d'incendie avait été déclenché à son installation en raison de fumée émanant d'un compresseur défectueux. Le service d'incendie de Pembroke s'est rendu sur les lieux et a confirmé qu'il n'y avait aucun incendie.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez site Web de SRBT (en anglais seulement).

2015

Nordion (Canada) Ltd.

Date de l'événement : 6 août 2015

Installation de traitement des substances nucléaires, Kanata (Ontario)

Conformément à la réglementation pertinente et aux conditions de son permis, Nordion (Canada) Inc. a signalé à la CCSN qu'un incendie était survenu dans le bâtiment des opérations de son installation de Kanata. Le bâtiment a été évacué, et le Service d'incendie d'Ottawa a rapidement maîtrisé l'incendie. Il s'agit d'un événement non radiologique; personne n'a été blessé, et il n'y a aucun impact sur la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, du public ou sur l'environnement local. Un inspecteur de la CCSN s'est rendu sur le site et continuera à surveiller la situation. Nordion traite des substances nucléaires (radio-isotopes) à des fins médicales et industrielles. Cet événement fera l'objet d'une discussion à l'audience de la Commission du 19 août 2015.

Conformément aux exigences de la CCSN en matière de divulgation publique, Nordion a affiché de l'information au sujet de l'incendie sur son site Web, que vous pouvez consulter pour obtenir plus de renseignements.