Webinar: Lens of the eye

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and the Canadian Radiation Protection Association (CRPA) hosted a webinar on March 21, 2018 on the scientific basis for the recommended dose limits for the lens of the eye for nuclear energy workers, as set by the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP). The webinar presented expert opinions and perspectives behind the science.

Technical background

In order to prevent opacification (or clouding of the lens), which, in its advanced stages, is referred to as a cataract, dose limits have been defined for the lens of the eye. In April 2011, the ICRP issued a formal statement indicating that tissue reactions for the lens of the eye have dose thresholds that are, or might be, lower than previously considered. The ICRP therefore recommended a reduction in the equivalent dose limit for the lens of the eye to 20 mSv in a year, averaged over defined five-year periods (i.e., 100 mSv/5 years), with no single year exceeding 50 mSv. This recommendation is for nuclear energy workers; the ICRP did not change its recommended dose limit for the lens of the eye for members of the public.

In alignment with the ICRP’s recommendations, the CNSC discussion paper DIS-13-01, Proposals to Amend the Radiation Protection Regulations, proposed to:

  • change the equivalent dose limit for the lens of an eye for a nuclear energy worker from the current limit of 150 mSv to 50 mSv in a one-year dosimetry period
  • add a new dose limit of 100 mSv in a five-year dosimetry period (for the lens of an eye for a nuclear energy worker)

Speakers

Chris Clement, Scientific Secretary, International Commission on Radiological Protection

As ICRP Scientific Secretary, Chris Clement oversees the ICRP’s daily business, represents the ICRP in international fora, is Editor-in-Chief of the Annals of the ICRP, and has presented over 150 invited lectures in more than 25 countries. He has 30 years of experience in environmental remediation radiological counter-terrorism, and was previously director of radiation protection at the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission. He has also been a member of the IRPA Executive Council since 2012.

Abstract: In 2012, the International Commission on Radiological Protection issued ICRP Publication 118, which provides a review of early and late effects of radiation in normal tissues and organs with respect to radiation protection. This presentation describes the ICRP’s process and rationale for developing the new recommendation, and some of its implications.

View the presentation (PDF)


Liz Ainsbury, PhD, Cytogenetics Group Leader, Public Health England Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards

Dr. Liz Ainsbury is a Principal Radiation Protection Scientist from the UK's Public Health England Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards. She has a number of publications on the basis for and operational aspects of the new European Basic Safety Standards, which fully implement the ICRP's recommendations, and is also leading an EU-funded project examining how low doses of ionizing radiation might contribute to cataract development.

Abstract: The following will be discussed and elaborated on in this presentation: the mechanisms involved in the formation of low-dose radiation cataracts, the impact of dose and dose rate, and the interplay among radiation, genetic background and age-related cataracts.

View the presentation (PDF)


Roy Shore, PhD, New York University School of Medicine (Professor Emeritus), and Chief of Research, Radiation Effects Research Foundation, Hiroshima, Japan (retired)

Dr. Shore served on the ICRP’s Committee 1 (Radiation Effects) for 16 years. He has also served on various committees or task groups for UNSCEAR, the World Health Organization, the U.S. National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements, and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. He was an investigator on the radiation cataract studies of the Japanese atomic bomb survivors and the Chernobyl clean-up workers.

Abstract: A summary of epidemiologic information on the dose rate effectiveness factor (DREF) for radiation cataracts will be presented, based on several new studies since the ICRP issued its revised recommendation on dose limits to the lens of the eye.

View the presentation (PDF)


Norman J. Kleiman, PhD, Columbia University, Mailman School of Public Health, Dept. Environmental Health Sciences, Director of Eye Radiation and Environmental Research Laboratory, Director of MS Degree Program in Radiological Sciences

Dr. Kleiman’s primary research interests revolve around examination of the effects of environmental exposures on eye tissues, including a variety of radiation exposures. He has considerable expertise in measuring radiation damage to the lens in both human subjects and experimental animal models. He has served on committees of the ICRP and NCRP, tasked with providing guidelines for ocular exposure limits, and has published extensively on radiation cataract risk for interventional cardiology medical personnel.

Abstract: The presentation will summarize the effects of ionizing radiation exposure on the eye, types and presentation of lens damage, methods to assess radiation-induced lens changes, and the generally underappreciated potential visual risks associated with cataract surgery in relatively young individuals still in the workforce.

View the presentation (PDF)

Date modified:

Webinaire sur le cristallin de l’oeil

Le 21 mars 2018 la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et l’Association canadienne de radioprotection (ACRP) ont offert un webinaire sur le fondement scientifique des limites de dose recommandées pour le cristallin des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire établies par la Commission internationale de protection radiologique (CIPR). Des experts ont présenté leurs perspectives et leurs opinions sur la science entourant cette recommandation.

Renseignements techniques

Afin de prévenir l’opacification (ou voilement) du cristallin, qu’on appelle cataracte à son stade avancé, des limites de dose ont été établies pour cet organe. En avril 2011, la CIPR a publié une déclaration officielle indiquant que le seuil de dose pour la réaction des tissus du cristallin est, ou pourrait être, inférieur à ce qu’on prenait en compte auparavant. La CIPR a donc recommandé la réduction de la limite de dose équivalente à 20 mSv en moyenne par an pour le cristallin, répartie sur des périodes de cinq ans définies (100 mSv sur 5 ans), ne dépassant pas 50 mSv pour une seule année. Cette recommandation vise les travailleurs du secteur nucléaire – la CIPR n’a pas changé la limite de dose recommandée pour le cristallin chez les membres du public.

Pour respecter les recommandations de la CIPR, le document de travail de la CCSN intitulé DIS-13-01, Modifications proposées au Règlement sur la radioprotection, propose ce qui suit :

  • changer la limite de dose équivalente pour le cristallin pour un travailleur du secteur nucléaire de 150 mSv à 50 mSv pour une période de dosimétrie d’un an
  • ajouter une nouvelle limite de dose de 100 mSv pour une période de dosimétrie de cinq ans (pour le cristallin d’un travailleur du secteur nucléaire)

Conférenciers

Chris Clement, secrétaire scientifique, Commission internationale de protection radiologique

À titre de secrétaire scientifique de la CIPR, Chris Clement surveille les activités quotidiennes de la CIPR, représente la Commission dans le cadre de forums internationaux, est rédacteur en chef des Annales de la CIPR et a donné plus de 150 exposés dans plus de 25 pays. Il possède 30 ans d’expérience en remise en état de l’environnement et en lutte contre le terrorisme radiologique. Il a déjà occupé le poste de directeur, radioprotection, à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire. Il est membre du comité exécutif de la CIPR depuis 2012.

Résumé : En 2012, la Commission internationale de protection radiologique a fait paraître la Publication 118 de la CIPR, qui donne un aperçu des effets précoces et tardifs du rayonnement dans les tissus et les organes normaux en ce qui a trait à la radioprotection. Cette présentation décrit le processus et la justification pour la nouvelle recommandation ainsi que certaines de ses répercussions.

Voir la présentation (PDF) (en anglais seulement)


Liz Ainsbury, Ph. D., chef de groupe – cytogénétique, Public Health England Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards

Liz Ainsbury est scientifique principale en radioprotection au Public Health England Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards du Royaume­Uni. Elle a plusieurs publications à son actif au sujet du fondement des nouvelles normes européennes de sûreté de base et de leurs aspects opérationnels. Ces normes tiennent entièrement compte des recommandations de la CIPR à ce sujet. Elle dirige également un projet financé par l’Union européenne visant à déterminer comment les faibles doses de rayonnement ionisant pourraient contribuer à la formation de cataractes.

Résumé : Les points suivants seront abordés et précisés dans le cadre de cette présentation : les mécanismes à l’origine de la formation des cataractes causées par des rayonnements à faible dose, l’effet de la dose et du débit de dose ainsi que l’interaction entre le rayonnement, le bagage génétique et les cataractes séniles.

Voir la présentation (PDF) (en anglais seulement)


Roy Shore, Ph. D., École de médecine de l’Université de New York (professeur émérite) et chef de recherche, Radiation Effects Research Foundation, Hiroshima (retraité)

M. Shore siège au comité 1 de la CIPR (effets du rayonnement) depuis 16 ans. Il a également fait partie de divers comités ou groupes de travail de l’UNSCEAR, de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, du National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements des États-Unis et de la National Academy of Sciences des États-Unis. Il a été enquêteur dans le cadre de l’étude sur le rayonnement et les cataractes chez les survivants de la bombe atomique au Japon et les travailleurs chargés du nettoyage après Tchernobyl.

Résumé : Présentation d’information épidémiologique sur le facteur d’efficacité du débit de dose (FEDD) pour les cataractes causées par le rayonnement. Cette information est tirée de plusieurs nouvelles études réalisées après la publication de la recommandation révisée de la CIPR sur les limites de dose au cristallin.

Voir la présentation (PDF) (en anglais seulement)


Norman J. Kleiman, Ph. D., École de santé publique Mailman de l’Université Columbia, département des sciences de la santé environnementale, directeur du laboratoire de recherche sur l’œil, le rayonnement et l’environnement, directeur du programme de maîtrise en sciences radiologiques

Les recherches du Dr Kleiman portent principalement sur les effets de l’exposition environnementale sur les tissus de l’œil, y compris un large éventail d’expositions aux rayonnements. Le Dr Kleiman possède une vaste expertise en mesure des dommages au cristallin humain et animal attribuables aux rayonnements. Il a siégé à des comités de la CIPR et de la NCRP au sein desquels il était chargé de fournir des lignes directrices pour l’établissement de limites d’exposition oculaire, et a publié de nombreux ouvrages sur les risques de cataractes causés par le rayonnement encourus par le personnel médical en cardiologie interventionnelle.

Résumé : Présentation résumant les effets de l’exposition aux rayonnements ionisants sur l’œil, les types et la définition des dommages au cristallin, les méthodes d’évaluation des changements au cristallin causés par le rayonnement, et les impacts visuels potentiels généralement sous-estimés qui sont associés à la chirurgie de la cataracte chez des personnes relativement jeunes qui font encore partie de la population active.

Voir la présentation (PDF) (en anglais seulement)

Dernière mise à jour :