Our Mission

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, CNSC's mandate involves four major areas:

  • regulation of the development, production and use of nuclear energy in Canada to protect health, safety and the environment
  • regulation of the production, possession, use and transport of nuclear substances, and the production, possession and use of prescribed equipment and prescribed information
  • implementation of measures respecting international control of the development, production, transport and use of nuclear energy and substances, including measures respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear explosive devices
  • dissemination of scientific, technical and regulatory information concerning the activities of CNSC, and the effects on the environment, on the health and safety of persons, of the development, production, possession, transport and use of nuclear substances

Notre mission

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l'environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, la mission de la CCSN comprend quatre éléments principaux :

  • réglementer le développement, la production et l'utilisation de l'énergie nucléaire au Canada pour protéger la santé, la sûreté, la sécurité et l'environnement
  • réglementer la production, la possession, l'utilisation et le transport des substances nucléaires, ainsi que la production, la possession et l'utilisation de l'équipement et des renseignements réglementés
  • mettre en œuvre les mesures de contrôle international du développement, de la production, du transport et de l'utilisation de l'énergie et des substances nucléaires, y compris les mesures de non prolifération des armes et des explosifs nucléaires
  • informer le public, sur les plans scientifique, technique ou réglementaire, au sujet des activités de la CCSN et des conséquences, pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes et de l'environnement, du développement, de la production, de la possession, du transport et de l'utilisation des substances nucléaires