President

Rumina Velshi

Ms. Rumina Velshi


Rumina Velshi was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) for a five-year term beginning August 22, 2018.

Ms. Velshi has had a long association with the CNSC. She was appointed as a permanent, part-time Commission member in 2011 and re-appointed for a second five-year term in March 2018.

Ms. Velshi has extensive technical, regulatory and adjudication expertise in the area of energy. Throughout her career, she has worked in various capacities at Ontario Hydro and Ontario Power Generation. Ms. Velshi also previously served as a part-time Board member on the Ontario Energy Board, the economic regulator of the province of Ontario’s electricity and natural gas sectors.

Ms. Velshi is very active in the promotion of careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), especially for young women. Since joining the CNSC as President and CEO, she has launched a women in STEM initiative, with the aim of considering ways to support women in STEM careers at the CNSC and elsewhere, and to further STEM education by working with interested partners. She has delivered several international keynote addresses about breaking down barriers for women in STEM, at venues that have included the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna and to audiences such as the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s Federal Women’s Program Advisory Committee.

Ms. Velshi was one of the founding members of Canada’s Women in Science and Engineering and served as Vice Chair on the Board of Directors of Scientists in School – a non-profit organization that provides STEM-focused workshops to more than 700,000 students each year. She is the recipient of the 2011 Women in Nuclear (WiN) Canada Leadership Award.

Ms. Velshi was one of 150 Canadian women to have their stories compiled in "Your Turn", a book to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary and inspire the next generation of women leaders.

Ms. Velshi is also very active in international development activities. She is the founding member of Focus Humanitarian Assistance Canada, an internationally recognized humanitarian assistance agency. She served for four years as the Aga Khan Foundation Canada's City Chair for Toronto for the World Partnership Events, Canada's largest annual event dedicated to increasing awareness and raising funds to fight global poverty.

Ms. Velshi holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Civil Engineering), a Master of Engineering (Chemical Engineering) and a Master of Business Administration – all from the University of Toronto.

Presentations and remarks

A list of Ms. Velshi’s presentations, keynote addresses and remarks can be found on the CNSC’s presentations page.

Date modified:

Présidente

Rumina Velshi

Mme Rumina Velshi

Rumina Velshi a été nommée présidente et première dirigeante de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) pour un mandat de cinq ans commençant le 22 août 2018.

Mme Velshi est depuis longtemps associée à la CCSN. Elle a été nommée commissaire permanente à temps partiel en 2011, et son mandat a été renouvelé pour une autre période de cinq ans en mars 2018.

Mme Velshi possède une vaste expertise en matière technique, réglementaire et d’adjudication dans le domaine de l’énergie. Elle a mené une longue carrière dans divers postes à Hydro Ontario et Ontario Power Generation. Mme Velshi a aussi été membre à temps partiel de la Commission de l’énergie de l’Ontario, l’organisme de réglementation économique des secteurs de l’électricité et du gaz naturel de la province de l’Ontario.

Mme Velshi travaille sans relâche à la promotion des carrières en science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM), en particulier pour les jeunes femmes. Depuis qu’elle a été nommée présidente et première dirigeante de la CCSN, elle a lancé une initiative afin d’appuyer les femmes dans des carrières en STIM à la CCSN et ailleurs, et de promouvoir l’éducation dans ces domaines en collaboration avec des partenaires intéressés. Elle a prononcé plusieurs discours au sujet de l’élimination des obstacles pour les femmes en STIM devant des auditoires internationaux tels que les membres de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA), à Vienne, et du comité consultatif du programme fédéral pour femmes de la Commission de réglementation nucléaire des États-Unis.

Mme Velshi est membre fondatrice de Women in Science and Engineering (Canada), et a été vice présidente du conseil d’administration de Scientifiques à l’école – un organisme sans but lucratif qui donne des ateliers axés sur les STIM à près de 700 000 étudiants chaque année. Elle est lauréate du prix du leadership 2011 de Women in Nuclear (WiN) Canada.

Mme Velshi a été l’une des 150 Canadiennes dont l’histoire est parue dans Your Turn, un livre publié pour souligner le 150e anniversaire du Canada et inspirer la prochaine génération de femmes chefs de file.

Elle est également très active dans le domaine du développement international. Elle est membre fondatrice de Focus Humanitarian Assistance Canada, un organisme d’aide humanitaire de renommée mondiale. De plus, elle a été présidente de la Marche des partenaires mondiaux de la Fondation Aga Khan Canada à Toronto pendant quatre ans. Cet événement annuel est le plus important en son genre au Canada; il se consacre à sensibiliser le public à la pauvreté dans le monde et à recueillir des fonds pour combattre ce fléau.

Mme Velshi est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences appliquées (génie civil), d’une maîtrise en génie (génie chimique) et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires; tous ces diplômes lui ont été décernés par l’Université de Toronto.

Présentations et discours

Une liste des présentations, des notes d’allocution et des discours de Mme Velshi se trouve sur la page des présentations de la CCSN.

Dernière mise à jour :