CNSC Executive Committee Members

President and CEO

more about Dr. Michael Binder >

One member of the Commission is designated as the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission’s (CNSC’s) President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO). This position is currently held by Dr. Michael Binder. Read more about Dr. Michael Binder.

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, BSc Ramzi Jammal, Executive Vice-President
and Chief Regulatory Officer

Regulatory Operations Branch

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, BSc
Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Officer
Regulatory Operations Branch, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

Ramzi Jammal has worked for the CNSC since 1998, holding progressively senior positions. He has accumulated over 20 years of experience in the nuclear industry, combining management skills with scientific expertise, and representing the CNSC in various international activities. These include the development and establishment of the IAEA Code of Conduct for the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources, and the international categorization of radioactive sources. He also played a key role in ensuring that the recommendations of the International Commission on Radiation Protection complemented the CNSC's regulatory needs.

Prior to joining the CNSC, Mr. Jammal was the Technical Manager of the Department of Radiological Sciences Nuclear Medicine Division at the Ottawa Hospital's Civic Campus. Under his leadership, the department became the first filmless nuclear medicine department in Canada.

He has received several academic awards, including the North American Society of Nuclear Medicine’s First Place Award for new scientific advancements in nuclear medicine.

Terry Jamieson, Vice-President Terry Jamieson, Vice-President

Technical Support Branch

Terry Jamieson
Vice-President

Terry Jamieson has been with the CNSC since 2007. He has over 31 years of experience in the Canadian nuclear safety and environmental industries, and has held technical and management positions in the areas of radiation protection, environmental protection, nuclear security and safeguards, and safety assessment.

Mr. Jamieson began his career as a nuclear design engineer at Ontario Hydro. He then worked as a researcher in the Library of Parliament’s Science/Technology Research group, and subsequently became Senior Nuclear Engineer at ECS Power Systems. From 1989 to 2007, he worked at the Science Applications International Corporation, where he rose to the positions of Chief Operating Officer, Vice-President and Division Manager.

He has authored many technical publications and was a recipient of the American Nuclear Society’s Best Paper Award in 1996. The Canadian Nuclear Society awarded him the J.S. Hewitt Team Achievement Award in 2000 for the creative conceptualization and innovative application of a thermal neutron-activation-based system for detecting non-metallic land mines. In 2010, he was made a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada.

Jason Cameron, Vice-President and
Chief Communications Officer

Regulatory Affairs Branch

Jason Cameron
Vice-President and Chief Communications Officer

Jason Cameron became Vice-President and Chief Communications Officer, Regulatory Affairs Branch, on May 31, 2013, where he leads the CNSC's strategic policy, communications and regulatory framework initiatives. He has dedicated the past two decades of his career to nuclear issues, regulatory policy and international relations.

He joined the Atomic Energy Control Board of Canada (the CNSC’'s predecessor) in 1998 as a Safeguards Officer. Over the next 15 years, he assumed progressively senior roles including Chief of Staff, Secretary to the Management Committee, Head of Evaluation, and – most recently –  Director General of Strategic Planning. In this capacity, he led the CNSC's planning and reporting processes and managed the coordination of intergovernmental, international and Aboriginal relations.

Before joining the Government of Canada, he was a Visiting Information Officer with the World Nuclear Association (then known as the Uranium Institute), based in London, England. Here, he was responsible for analyzing the impact of strengthened import/export controls on the international nuclear industry.

He completed his post-graduate Master’s degree in international relations and his Bachelor’s degree in political science at the University of Calgary.

Stéphane Cyr, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer Stéphane Cyr, Vice-President and
Chief Financial Officer

Corporate Services Branch

Stéphane Cyr
Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer

Stéphane Cyr joined the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission in 2009 as Director General, Finance and Administration, and has led a number of major initiatives and projects, including the establishment of a financial framework, an accommodation fit‑up strategy, and support for the regulatory program with respect to financial guarantees.

From 2006 to 2009, Stéphane developed his skills at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), where he held the position of Director General, Basic Research Knowledge Creation Program, and later Director General, Finance and Corporate Planning.

From 2004 to 2007, Stéphane served as Executive Director, Financial Management Services, at Human Resources and Social Development Canada. Prior to that, he worked at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency as Director, Accounting and Financial Systems, where he was in charge of projects such as the implementation of the financial and reporting system and the conversion to accrual accounting.

He began his career at the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), where he held several accounting and financial policy positions.

In 2010, Stéphane graduated from the public service’s Accelerated Executive Development Program.

Stéphane is a member of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec and the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada.


Lisa Thiele, Senior Counsel and Director Lisa Thiele, Senior General Counsel

Legal Services

Lisa Thiele
Senior General Counsel

Lisa Thiele joined the CNSC in 2004 with extensive career experience in administrative law at other federal quasi-judicial administrative tribunals. Prior to joining the CNSC, she worked with the RCMP External Review Committee, the Canadian Forces Grievance Board, and the Canadian Judicial Council, following a clerkship at the Federal Court of Canada.

As Senior General Counsel, Ms. Thiele leads a dedicated team delivering legal advice and litigation services. She acts as Commission counsel in regular public hearings and meetings across Canada.

Ms. Thiele is a regular contributor to the OECD/NEA Nuclear Law Bulletin, and is involved in the International Nuclear Law Association, as well as serving on the Board of Directors of its Canadian branch, the Canadian Nuclear Law Organization. She has been on the faculty of the IAEA’s Nuclear Law Institute since its inception in 2011, and regularly lectures at the International School of Nuclear Law, a yearly diploma program offered at the Université de Montpellier in France. She also supports the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals’ tribunal member training program by lecturing on the conduct of a quasi-judicial hearing and evidence in administrative law proceedings.

Marc Leblanc, Commission Secretary Marc Leblanc, Commission Secretary

Commission Secretary

Marc Leblanc

Marc Leblanc has been Commission Secretary since October 2001, and is a member of the CNSC’s Executive Committee, Management Committee and Audit Committee. He is the CNSC’s Official Languages Champion, as well as the Informal Conflict Management System Champion. He is currently on the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee (Treasurer) of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals. Member of the Barreau du Québec since 1982 and with more than 32 years of experience in the public service in administrative and business law, Mr. Leblanc previously occupied legislative policy and senior management positions at Industry Canada. His last position at Industry Canada was Director, Incorporation and Disclosure Services Branch.

Mr. Leblanc received a Licence en droit degree and a Graduate Studies Diploma from the University of Ottawa, for which he obtained the Prix de l’Ambassade de France. He has been teaching corporate and securities law at the University of Ottawa for over two decades, and has been very involved with the École du Barreau du Québec in the business law sector for more than 15 years.

Comité de direction

Président et premier dirigeant

M. Michael Binder

Un membre de la Commission est désigné président et premier dirigeant de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). À l'heure actuelle, c'est M. Michael Binder qui occupe ces fonctions. Lisez-en plus au sujet de M. Michael Binder.

Ramzi Jammal, Premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérationsRamzi Jammal, premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations

Direction générale de la réglementation des opérations

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, B.Sc.
Premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations
Direction générale de la réglementation des opérations – Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Ramzi Jammal travaille à la CCSN depuis 1998 où il a occupé des postes de direction de plus en plus importants. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans le secteur nucléaire, possède des compétences en gestion et une expertise scientifique et représente la CCSN dans le cadre de diverses activités internationales. Celles-ci incluent l'élaboration et la mise en place du Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l'AIEA et la catégorisation internationale des sources radioactives. M. Jammal a aussi joué un rôle clé pour s'assurer que les recommandations de la Commission internationale de protection contre les radiations permettent de combler les besoins en réglementation de la CCSN.

Avant de se joindre à la CCSN, M. Jammal a occupé le poste de directeur technique du département des sciences radiologiques de la Division de médecine nucléaire, au campus Civic de l'Hôpital d'Ottawa. Sous sa direction, ce département a été le premier au Canada à ne plus utiliser de films.

M. Jammal a reçu plusieurs récompenses académiques, y compris la première place pour nouveaux progrès scientifiques en médecine nucléaire de la North American Society of Nuclear Medicine.

Terry Jamieson, Vice-président Peter Elder, Intérimaire/vice-président et conseiller scientifique principal

Direction générale du soutien technique

Peter Elder, M.Sc. ing., B.Sc. (génie physique)
Intérimaire/vice-président et conseiller scientifique principal
Direction générale du soutien technique, Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Peter Elder fait carrière depuis plus de 30 ans à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire dans divers rôles réglementaires liés au cycle entier du combustible nucléaire. Il s’est joint à l’organisation en 1996 en tant qu’analyste du comportement et de la sûreté du combustible, pour ensuite devenir gestionnaire de projet en autorisation des réacteurs de puissance. Il a aussi occupé divers postes de gestion, et a acquis de l’expérience touchant tous les aspects du mandat de l’organisation : la sûreté, la sécurité, les garanties et la protection de l’environnement. Il a également été conseiller sur le nucléaire pour la mission permanente auprès des organisations internationales, à Vienne. Dans ce rôle, il a donné des conseils au gouvernement canadien sur les activités de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique liées à la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires, à la gestion des urgences et à la coopération technique.

Avant d’arriver à la CCSN, il a travaillé à Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) en tant que chef de section et chercheur scientifique dans le domaine du comportement du combustible à haute température et du rejet de produits de fission. Il a corédigé des documents scientifiques sur le comportement du combustible en conditions d’accident pendant cette période, et a participé à plusieurs initiatives de collaboration internationale dans ce domaine.

Peter Elder a obtenu une maîtrise en génie des matériaux de l’Université Queen’s après son baccalauréat en génie (option physique) de l’Université de Toronto.

Il a été nommé vice-président par intérim de la Direction générale du soutien technique de la CCSN en avril 2017.

Jason Cameron, vice-président et chef des communicationsJason Cameron, vice-président et chef des communications

Direction générale des affaires réglementaires

Jason Cameron
Vice-président et chef des communications

Jason Cameron est devenu le vice-président et chef des communications de la Direction générale des affaires réglementaires le 31 mai 2013. En cette qualité, il s’occupe des secteurs de la CCSN associés à la politique stratégique, aux communications et au cadre de réglementation. Au cours des vingt dernières années, M. Cameron s’est penché sur les enjeux nucléaires, les politiques de réglementation et les relations internationales.

En 1998, il s’est joint à la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique du Canada (prédécesseur de la CCSN) à titre d’agent des garanties. Au cours des quinze années suivantes, il a continué à gravir progressivement les échelons à la CCSN et a occupé divers postes comme ceux de chef du personnel, secrétaire au Comité de gestion, chef de l’Évaluation et, plus récemment, directeur général de la Planification stratégique. À ce titre, il a dirigé les processus de planification et d’établissement de rapports de l’organisation et géré la coordination des relations intergouvernementales, internationales et autochtones.

Avant son arrivée au gouvernement du Canada, il était agent d’information invité à la World Nuclear Association (anciennement Uranium Institute) à Londres (Angleterre). Il était chargé d’analyser l’impact du renforcement des mesures de contrôle à l’importation et à l’exportation sur le secteur nucléaire international.

M. Cameron est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences politiques et d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de l’Université de Calgary.


Stéphane Cyr, Vice-président et chef des services financiers Stéphane Cyr, vice-président et dirigeant principal

Direction générale des services de gestion

Stéphane Cyr
Vice-président et dirigeant principal

Stéphane Cyr s'est joint à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) en 2009 en tant que directeur général des finances et de l'administration. À ce titre, il a dirigé de multiples initiatives et projets d'envergure, dont l'élaboration d'un cadre financier, le développement d'une stratégie d'aménagement des locaux, ainsi que l'adoption de mesures de soutien au programme de réglementation en ce qui a trait aux garanties financières.

De 2006 à 2009, M. Cyr a perfectionné ses compétences au sein des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada comme directeur général du programme de création des connaissances en recherche fondamentale et comme directeur général des finances et de la planification organisationnelle.

De 2004 à 2007, M. Cyr a occupé le poste de directeur exécutif, Services de gestion financière, à Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada. Préalablement, il avait travaillé à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments à titre de directeur de la comptabilité et des systèmes financiers où il était responsable de divers projets, en autres la mise en œuvre d'un système financier et de production de rapports ainsi que la conversion vers la comptabilité d'exercice.

Il a entamé sa carrière à l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), où il a occupé plusieurs postes dans le domaine de la comptabilité et des politiques financières.

Depuis 2010, il est diplômé du Programme de perfectionnement accéléré des cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique.

Il est également membre de l'Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec et des Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada.


Lisa Thiele, Avocate générale principale Lisa Thiele, avocate-générale principale

Services juridiques

Lisa Thiele
Avocate-générale principale

Lisa Thiele est arrivée à la CCSN en 2004, forte d’une grande expérience en droit administratif acquise auprès d’autres tribunaux administratifs quasi judiciaires du gouvernement fédéral. Avant de se joindre à la CCSN, elle a siégé au Comité externe d’examen de la GRC, au Comité des griefs des Forces canadiennes et au Conseil canadien de la magistrature après avoir été auxiliaire juridique à la Cour fédérale du Canada.

En tant qu’avocate-générale principale, Madame Thiele dirige une équipe dévouée chargée de fournir des conseils juridiques et des services de gestion des litiges. Elle agit à titre de conseillère juridique de la Commission lors des audiences et des réunions publiques régulières tenues partout au Canada.

Elle contribue régulièrement au Bulletin de droit nucléaire de l’AEN/OCDE et elle participe aux activités de l’Association internationale du droit nucléaire et siège au Conseil d’administration de sa section canadienne, appelée Organisation canadienne du droit nucléaire. Elle fait partie du corps professoral de la Nuclear Law Institute de l’AIEA depuis sa création en 2011, et donne régulièrement des exposés à l’International School of Nuclear Law, qui offre un programme annuel de diplôme en collaboration avec l’Université de Montpellier de France. De plus, elle appuie le programme de formation des membres des tribunaux du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens en donnant des exposés sur le déroulement d’audiences quasi judiciaires et les preuves pour les instances en droit administratif.


Marc Leblanc, Secrétaire de la Commission Marc Leblanc, secrétaire de la Commission

Secrétaire de la Commission

Marc Leblanc

Marc Leblanc est secrétaire de la Commission depuis octobre 2001 et membre du Comité de direction, du Comité de gestion et du Comité de vérification de la CCSN. Il est aussi champion des langues officielles et champion du Système de gestion informelle des conflits à la CCSN. M. Leblanc siège actuellement au Conseil d’administration et au Comité de direction (trésorier) du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens. En plus d’être membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1982 et de posséder plus de 32 ans d’expérience à la fonction publique en droit administratif et en droit des affaires, il a occupé des postes en politique législative et de haute direction à Industrie Canada. À son départ du Ministère, il était directeur de la Direction des services de constitution et de diffusion d’information.

M. Leblanc possède une Licence en droit ainsi qu’un diplôme d’études supérieures de l’Université d’Ottawa pour lequel il a gagné le Prix de l’Ambassade de France. Il enseigne depuis plus de 20 ans à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d'Ottawa, se spécialisant dans les domaines du droit des sociétés et des valeurs mobilières, et travaille en droit des affaires à l’École du Barreau du Québec depuis plus de 15 ans.