The CNSC Alumni Program

Introduction

To take advantage of the unique knowledge and technical expertise that many of our CNSC retired employees have developed over the years, the CNSC has put in place an Alumni Program. This program enables CNSC to meet short term needs for talent that supports both knowledge transfer and succession planning efforts. At the same time, CNSC retirees have opportunities to continue to exercise their professional skills during their early retirement years in a manner that is flexible and suited to their personal situation.

Basic Elements of the Program

Any former CNSC employee who is currently retired may apply to the Program. The objective of the Program is to allow managers to retain the services of retirees who may possess certain specialized skills, technical knowledge or important corporate memory thus providing the opportunity for them to pass along this knowledge through training, mentoring or coaching other employees. These individuals may be engaged to address periods of high workload, unexpected absences or to undertake short‐term projects. The Program provides a process for identifying employees interested in participating as Alumni and for managers to match them with job requirements. The Human Resources Directorate is responsible for the implementation of the Alumni Program, including the maintenance of its inventory.

Procedures

Employees who indicate their intent to retire are provided with information kits that outline the Program and explain how to register in the Alumni inventory. The Alumni inventory is part of the electronic "Careers" inventory currently maintained on our Web site. Details related to their interests, preferences and qualifications are included in the inventory. The inventory is used to engage individuals as employees or as contractors, depending on the situation.

Once registered, the individual’s security clearance (if applicable) will need to be maintained as active.

Managers have no obligation to use the Alumni inventory, nor does inclusion in the inventory guarantee employment or priority for appointment to those who have registered.

Managers who identify a need for a certain skill set may request a search of the inventory and referral of candidates for consideration. Given the nature of the Program, they may also request referral of any specific individual of interest.

As this Program is not intended as a means of filling permanent or ongoing positions, individuals are generally hired on a term basis for a specified period not exceeding six months. The nature of the assignment dictates if the work is full‐time, part‐time or on an as required basis. Whatever arrangements are in place they must ensure that the retiree’s pension and benefits status are not affected. Therefore, each proposed appointment must be examined in this context.

Proposed continuation or renewal under the Alumni Program is subject to the review and consideration of the Human Resources Directorate.

Related Information

Programme des anciens

Introduction

Afin de profiter des connaissances et de l’expertise technique uniques que de nombreux employés de la CCSN à la retraite ont développées au fil des années, la CCSN a mis en place le Programme des anciens. Ce programme permet à la CCSN de répondre aux besoins à court terme en matière de talents pour appuyer le transfert des connaissances et les efforts de planification de la relève. De leur côté, les retraités de la CCSN ont l’occasion de continuer de mettre à profit leurs compétences professionnelles au cours de leurs premières années de retraite, de façon flexible et adaptée à leur situation personnelle.

Éléments de base du programme

N'importe quel ancien employé de la CCSN qui est actuellement retiré est admissible dans le cadre du Programme des anciens. L'objectif du Programme consiste à permettre aux gestionnaires chargés de l'embauche de retenir les services de retraités qui possèdent certaines compétences spécialisées, certaines connaissances techniques ou une mémoire importante de l'organisation. Cela leur donne l'occasion de transmettre leurs connaissances par le biais de la formation, du mentorat ou du coaching. Ces personnes peuvent être retenues lors de périodes où la charge de travail est élevée, pour combler une absence imprévue ou pour entreprendre des projets à court terme. Le Programme comprend un processus pour identifier les employés intéressés à participer à titre d'anciens et pour aider les gestionnaires à choisir ces personnes en fonction des besoins. La Direction des ressources humaines est responsable de la mise en oeuvre du Programme, y compris la tenue à jour du registre.

Procédures

Les employés qui font part de leur intention de partir à la retraite reçoivent une trousse d'information qui décrit le Programme et explique comment ajouter son nom au registre des anciens. Le registre des anciens fait partie du répertoire électronique des « Emplois » qui se trouve actuellement sur notre site Web. Le registre inclut des détails concernant les intérêts, les préférences et les qualifications des personnes inscrites. Selon la situation, le registre est utilisé afin de retenir des anciens comme employé ou comme consultant.

La cote de sécurité (s'il y a lieu) de la personne qui s'inscrit au registre devra demeurer active.

Les gestionnaires ne sont pas obligés d'utiliser le registre des anciens, et l'inclusion dans le registre ne garantit pas non plus un emploi ou une priorité d'embauche aux personnes inscrites.

Les gestionnaires qui identifient un besoin pour un certain ensemble de compétences peuvent demander une recherche dans le registre et la présentation de candidats qui sera soumise à leur examen. Compte tenu de la nature du Programme, les gestionnaires peuvent également demander la recommandation de toute personne particulière d'intérêt.

Comme ce programme n'a pas pour but de combler des postes permanents ou continus, l'engagement se fait généralement sur une base déterminée, pour une période ne dépassant pas six mois. La nature de l'affectation dicte si le travail sera réalisé à temps plein, à temps partiel ou selon les besoins. Peu importe les arrangements pris, il faut s'assurer que le régime de retraite et les avantages du retraité ne sont pas touchés. Par conséquent, chaque nomination proposée doit être examinée dans ce contexte.

La continuation ou le renouvellement, aux termes du Programme des anciens, est l'objet d'un examen par la Direction des ressources humaines.

Informations connexes