Women at the CNSC - CNSC Online - Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Women at the CNSC

From technical specialists...
...to nuclear engineers...
...and environmental assessment officers...
...women at the CNSC make up a diverse group who work to ensure that nuclear in Canada is regulated in a way that protects the safety of workers, the public and the environment.
Learn about their important contribution to nuclear safety.

Dynamic and Varied Careers

Women make up 48 percent of the workforce at the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and occupy a variety of fast-paced and stimulating positions.

Meet the Women

Scroll down and select a profile to learn about some of the rewarding work that they do every day.

Meet Lisa Thiele


Senior General Counsel and Director, Legal Services Division

Lisa Thiele

The Legal Services team provides strategic advice to help the Commission achieve its goals in a legally sound manner. We ensure that the CNSC is aware of potential legal implications of initiatives, and we represent the CNSC's interests in litigation.

Career Path

I had no intention of becoming a lawyer, and was happily preparing for grad school after an undergraduate degree in English Literature, when I wrote the Law School Admission Test on the recommendation of a friend. It turned out I enjoyed law even more than literature, but there are certainly parallels between the two – the words one chooses are important in law, as with any good literature, and a lawyer can be quite creative in crafting a position to advocate!

Role and Responsibilities

As in-house counsel, I provide legal advice on all aspects of the CNSC's work. Being in-house counsel to an organization like the CNSC is like the best of two worlds – government and corporate in-house – because I get to provide legal guidance and direction on matters of public importance and, at the same time, I have relative autonomy and a broad scope of work.

Special Achievements

My work touches on international and Canadian law, regulation, inspections, litigation and even prosecution. I was privileged a few years ago to work on the first conviction under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (R. v. Yadegari). It was quite rewarding professionally for all those involved – a conviction on nine offences under several different statutes requires collaboration and time. This was a great achievement for the CNSC and non-proliferation in Canada.

Meet Patsy Thompson


Director General, Directorate of Environmental and Radiation Protection and Assessment

Patsy Thompson

The Directorate of Environmental and Radiation Protection and Assessment ensures that licensees protect the environment, and the health and safety of workers and the public. We're also responsible for developing requirements like regulatory documents, standards and procedures. 

Career Path

I come from a family where I was the first to obtain a post-secondary degree. At first I wanted to be a doctor. But, when I was exposed to biology in a pre-med program, I realized that work in biology was what I truly wanted to do. My grandmother was Métis and would take us to the forest to explore medicinal herbs, and I think that these traditions, coupled with my schooling, were influential. After occupying a few technical positions, I completed a Ph.D in Aquatic Sciences (Ecotoxicology) at the Université du Québec – the rest, they say, is history!

Role and Responsibilities

Currently, I work with the directorate to ensure that nuclear is regulated in a way that continuously protects human health and the environment. I also verify that all the work we do is scientifically and technically sound. I work with 65 technical specialists, and it truly is the biggest pleasure to see so many different people from different disciplines coming together. I also participate in public outreach and adore learning; luckily, this position lets me do so every day.

Special Achievements

From 1994 to 1996, I helped the CNSC become the first nuclear regulator in the world to create an approach to evaluating impacts to the environment from radiation. A few years later, I assisted the CNSC again in becoming the first nuclear regulator in the world to conduct technical assessments for metals not traditionally looked at in uranium mines and mills in northern Saskatchewan, like selenium and molybdenum.     

Meet Solange Laberge


Technical Specialist / Senior Regulatory Program Officer

Solange Laberge

Working with various teams through assignments is fantastic. There are new challenges that allow you to broaden your perspectives on a personal level. On an organizational level, you can become a specialist in more areas to assist the Commission to do its work with better clarity and balance.

Career Path

I was quite sheltered from the world while growing up in Montréal's South Shore. Even so, I was always fascinated by science. While studying for my Bachelor's degree in Physics, I found out that engineering was actually what I wanted to do all along. Later, while I was completing my Bachelor of Engineering, I visited the Darlington site for a thermodynamics course and became particularly fascinated by the prospect of producing safe and clean energy. Then, when Hydro-Québec gave me a grant for pursuing my Master's degree in Nuclear Engineering at the École Polytechnique de Montréal, I took the plunge, never afraid of a challenge!

Role and Responsibilities

In 2012, while working as a safety analyst for the Point Lepreau Generating Station, I was offered a technical specialist position with the Reactor Thermalhydraulics Division at the CNSC. My work has included reviews of safety analyses and documents used by licensees to ensure the safe operation of their plant. I have also led reviews. Currently on assignment as a regulatory program officer for the Pickering Regulatory Program Division, I lead the regulatory oversight of safety analysis and of the lessons learned from the nuclear accident in Fukushima.

Special Achievements

Professionally, a highlight for me was being tasked with leading the resolution of long-standing regulatory actions, which led to my receiving a Bravo Award for an outstanding contribution. Personally, what definitely stands out is my family's successful move to Ottawa. We were eager to experience the big city – after living in the small town of Grand Bay, New Brunswick, any city was big by comparison! With so much to do here, we are now thriving.

Meet Nadine El Dabaghi


Specialist, Systems Engineering Division

Nadine El Dabaghi

My team, Systems Engineering Division (SED), supports the CNSC's mandate and mission by providing regulatory leadership and expertise in the fields of chemical, electrical and mechanical engineering.

Career Path

I graduated from electrical engineering at the University of Ottawa and also have a background in telecommunications. I look back at the last few years as a specialist and see a tremendous difference! Here at the CNSC, I can truly attest to the saying "we learn something new every day". I enjoy what I do very much as an electrical engineering specialist working in the nuclear power industry – I believe that this is just the beginning of a career that has limitless possibilities and see myself only moving forward in the future.

Role and Responsibilities

Although engineering is, by perception, a male-dominated domain, for me being a woman in nuclear engineering does not make me feel any less powerful. I am currently part of the Systems Engineering Division, where we regulate the safe production of nuclear energy at Canadian nuclear power plants. My role varies, from reviewing licensee submissions and performing site inspections, to developing inspection guides and speaking at international nuclear conferences. I am currently specializing in electrical power systems as well as mechanical/process systems.

Special Achievements

I have been privileged as a young engineer to be given responsibilities designed for senior staff. For example, I have developed an inspection guide for a special safety system and was the lead specialist for a new type of inspection when it was performed for the first time. I am also the co-author of a technical paper describing the emergency power systems at Canadian nuclear power plants.

Meet Stephanie Eisan


Regulatory Program Officer, Darlington Regulatory Program Division

Stephanie Eisan

In essence, our team is responsible for the development, management and implementation of the regulatory program for Ontario Power Generation Darlington, which includes licencing and compliance activities by staff in Ottawa and by onsite inspectors.  

Career Path

I grew up in the Maritimes where there wasn't much nuclear industry, but when the Westray coal mining accident happened in Nova Scotia, I was 11. The event hit me hard – my dad worked in an industrial environment, shipbuilding, and I knew then that industrial safety was what I wanted to pursue professionally. I completed a Bachelor's of Nuclear Engineering at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology, and I was among the first group of students to complete a 15-month internship with the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) from 2006 to 2007.

Role and Responsibilities

I act as the interface between the various facets of regulation for power reactors, specifically Darlington. My responsibilities include coordinating technical reviews, licensing and communication of regulatory positions to the licensee. I rely on the expertise of technical specialists and sometimes Legal Services to ensure that the positions formed and communicated through my director align with the mandate of the CNSC and Darlington's operating licence, and are consistent across the Directorate of Power Reactor Regulation. My particular responsibilities within my team include the areas of operating performance and fitness for service. There are always lessons to be learned and room for improvement!

Special Achievements

I am particularly excited about having received an Excellence Award for my role as part of the design team for Exercise Unified Response, which took place in May 2014. It was a challenging and fun multi-agency nuclear emergency exercise. Additionally, I am proud to have done work for the annual public nuclear power plant reports for 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Les femmes à la CCSN - CNSC en ligne - Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Les femmes à la CCSN

Spécialistes techniques...
…. ingénieures en sciences nucléaires…..
….ou encore agentes d’évaluation environnementale…
...les femmes à la CCSN composent un groupe diversifié qui veille à ce que le nucléaire au Canada soit réglementé de façon à protéger les travailleurs, le public et l’environnement.
Prenez connaissance de leur importante contribution à la sûreté nucléaire

Des carrières variées et stimulantes

Les femmes comptent pour 48 % de l’effectif de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et travaillent dans des milieux stimulants où tout se déroule rapidement.

Rencontrez les femmes

Parcourez la liste et sélectionnez un profile pour en savoir plus sur le travail gratifiant qu’elles accomplissent au quotidien.

Rencontrez Lisa Thiele


avocate-générale principale et directrice, Services juridiques

Lisa Thiele

L’équipe des Services juridiques fournit des conseils stratégiques pour aider la Commission à atteindre ses objectifs tout en respectant la loi. Nous veillons à ce que la CCSN soit au courant des conséquences légales possibles de ses initiatives, et nous représentons les intérêts de la CCSN en cas de litige.

Cheminement de carrière

Je n’avais pas l’intention de devenir avocate. Je me préparais tout simplement à commencer mes études supérieures après avoir terminé mon diplôme de premier cycle en littérature anglaise, quand un ami m’a recommandé de tenter l’examen d’admission en droit. En fin de compte, j’aime le droit encore plus que la littérature, mais je vois beaucoup de liens entre les deux – les mots choisis en droit sont importants, comme dans tout bon récit, et un avocat peut se montrer très créatif afin de défendre sa position!

Rôle et responsabilités

En tant qu’avocate interne, je fournis des conseils juridiques sur tous les aspects du travail de la CCSN. Travailler ici représente le meilleur des deux mondes – le gouvernement et l’organisation interne – puisque j’ai l’occasion de fournir des conseils et une orientation concernant des questions d’intérêt public et qu’en même temps je profite d’une certaine autonomie d’un travail varié.

Réalisations spéciales

Mon travail porte sur le droit international et canadien, la réglementation, les inspections, les litiges et même les poursuites. J’ai eu le privilège il y a quelques années de travailler au dossier de la première condamnation en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (R. c. Yadegari). C’était une tâche très enrichissante sur le plan professionnel pour chacun d’entre nous, qui avons dû collaborer et travailler fort afin d’obtenir une condamnation pour neuf infractions aux termes de diverses lois. Il s’agit d’une réalisation importante pour la CCSN et pour la non-prolifération au Canada.

Rencontrez Patsy Thompson


directrice générale, Direction de l’évaluation et de la protection environnementales et radiologiques

Patsy Thompson

La Direction de l’évaluation et de la protection environnementales et radiologiques veille à ce que les titulaires de permis protègent l’environnement et préservent la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public. Elle élabore aussi des documents d’application de la réglementation, des normes et des procédures, entres autres.

Cheminement de carrière

J’ai été la première dans ma famille à obtenir un diplôme d’études postsecondaires. Je voulais d’abord être médecin, mais les cours de biologie que j’ai pris pendant le programme prémédical ont fait croître mon intérêt pour ce sujet. Ma grand-mère est métisse, et nous avons passé du temps avec elle dans la forêt pour découvrir les herbes médicinales. Je crois que ces traditions avec mes études ont tracé mon chemin. Après avoir occupé quelques postes techniques, j’ai terminé mon doctorat en sciences aquatiques (écotoxicologie) à l’Université du Québec. Le reste, comme on dit, appartient à l’histoire!

Rôle et responsabilités

Mon rôle à la Direction est de veiller à ce que le domaine nucléaire soit réglementé de façon à préserver continuellement la santé humaine et à protéger l’environnement. Je vérifie aussi que le travail que nous faisons est solide sur le plan scientifique et technique. Je suis épaulée par 65 spécialistes techniques, et j’adore voir collaborer des gens avec de l’expérience dans divers domaines. Je participe aussi aux activités de relations externes et j’adore apprendre – ce que je fais chaque jour dans le cadre de mon travail!

Réalisations spéciales

De 1994 à 1996, j’ai aidé la CCSN à devenir le premier organisme de réglementation nucléaire au monde à établir une approche pour évaluer les impacts du rayonnement sur l’environnement. Quelques années après, j’ai aidé une fois de plus la CCSN à être la première à réaliser des évaluations techniques visant des métaux qui ne sont pas habituellement examinés dans les mines et usines de concentration d’uranium du Nord de la Saskatchewan, comme le sélénium et le molybdène.  

Rencontrez Solange Laberge


Spécialiste technique et agente principale du programme de réglementation

Solange Laberge

Travailler avec différentes équipes dans le cadre d'affections est génial. Les nouveaux défis permettent d'ouvrir les perspectives au niveau personnel. Tandis qu'au niveau organisationnel, vous pouvez devenir un spécialiste dans plusieurs domaines pour offrir à la CCSN les précisions et l'équilibre dont elle a besoin.

Cheminement de carrière

Même si j'ai grandi dans une sorte de bulle sur la rive Sud de Montréal, j'ai toujours été fascinée par les sciences. Pendant mes études de premier cycle en physique, j'ai découvert que c'est la profession d'ingénieur qui m'intéressait vraiment. Plus tard, pendant mes études en génie, j'ai visité l'établissement de Darlington dans le cadre d'un cours en thermodynamique et j'ai été particulièrement attirée par la possibilité de produire de l'énergie sûre et propre. J'ai ensuite bénéficié d'une bourse d'Hydro-Québec pour continuer mes études de deuxième cycle en génie nucléaire à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal. J'ai fait le grand saut et je ne l'ai jamais regretté!

Rôle et responsabilités

En 2012, alors que j'occupais un poste d'analyste de la sûreté à la centrale de Point Lepreau, on m'a offert un poste de spécialiste technique dans la Division de l'analyse thermohydraulique des réacteurs à la CCSN. J'étais chargée d'examiner les analyses de sûreté et les documents dont se servent les titulaires de permis pour exploiter leur centrale en toute sûreté. J'ai également dirigé des examens. À l'heure actuelle, j'assume par intérim le rôle d'agente principale du programme de réglementation pour la Division du programme de réglementation de Pickering où je supervise la surveillance réglementaire des analyses de sûreté et des leçons tirées de l'accident nucléaire de Fukushima.

Réalisations spéciales

L'un des faits saillants de ma carrière a été d'assurer la direction du processus de règlement de mesures réglementaires de longue date, projet qui m'a valu un prix Bravo pour contribution exceptionnelle. Sur le plan personnel, le déménagement réussi de ma famille à Ottawa arrive en tête de liste. Nous avions tellement hâte de faire l'expérience d'une grande ville – n'importe quelle ville paraît grande quand on a habité à Grand Bay, au Nouveau- Brunswick! Il y a tant à faire ici, c'est très stimulant.

Rencontrez Nadine El Dabaghi


spécialiste, Division de l’analyse des systèmes

Nadine El Dabaghi

La Division de l’analyse des systèmes appuie le mandat et la mission de la CCSN en fournissant du leadership et de l’expertise en matière de réglementation dans les domaines du génie chimique, électrique et mécanique.

Cheminement de carrière

J’ai un diplôme en génie électrique de l’Université d’Ottawa ainsi qu’un bagage en télécommunications. En songeant à mes dernières années dans mon poste de spécialiste en génie électrique, je vois que le domaine a grandement évolué! À la CCSN, il est très vrai que nous apprenons quelque chose de nouveau chaque jour. J’aime beaucoup mon travail dans le secteur nucléaire – je crois qu’il s’agit du début d’une carrière aux possibilités illimitées et je me vois progresser sans cesse à l’avenir.

Rôle et responsabilités

Le domaine du génie est considéré comme dominé par les hommes, mais je ne me sens pas moins forte en étant une femme en génie nucléaire. Je travaille à la Division de l’analyse des systèmes, qui est chargée de réglementer la production sécuritaire d’énergie nucléaire aux centrales nucléaires du Canada. Mon rôle est varié : j’examine des soumissions de titulaires de permis, je réalise des inspections sur le site, j’élabore des guides d’inspection et je donne des présentations à des conférences internationales sur le nucléaire, entre autres. Mes spécialités actuelles sont les systèmes d’alimentation électrique et les systèmes mécaniques et fonctionnels.

Réalisations spéciales

En tant que jeune ingénieure, j’ai eu le privilège d’avoir des responsabilités réservées habituellement au personnel chevronné. J’ai notamment élaboré un guide d’inspection pour un système de sûreté spécial et j’ai été spécialiste en chef lors du premier essai d’un nouveau type d’inspection. De plus, j’ai corédigé un document technique décrivant les systèmes d’alimentation électrique de secours des centrales nucléaires du Canada.

Rencontrez Stephanie Eisan


agente du programme de réglementation, Division du programme de réglementation de Darlington

Stephanie Eisan

Essentiellement, notre équipe est responsable de l'élaboration, de la gestion et de la mise en œuvre du programme de réglementation de la centrale nucléaire de Darlington (Ontario Power Generation), ce qui comprend les activités d'autorisation et de vérification de la conformité effectuées par le personnel d'Ottawa et les inspecteurs sur place.

Cheminement de carrière

J'ai grandi dans les Maritimes où le nucléaire n'est pas très présent. J'avais 11 ans lorsque l'accident à la mine de charbon Westray, en Nouvelle-Écosse, s'est produit. Cette tragédie m'a beaucoup marquée. Mon père travaillait dans un milieu industriel – la construction navale – et j'ai su à ce moment-là que la sécurité industrielle ferait partie de mon parcours professionnel. J'ai obtenu un baccalauréat en génie nucléaire de l'Institut universitaire de technologie de l'Ontario et fait partie du premier groupe d'étudiants à réaliser un stage de 15 mois à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) en 2006 et 2007.

Rôle et responsabilités

J'assure la liaison entre les divers volets de la réglementation des réacteurs nucléaires, particulièrement celui de Darlington. Je suis notamment responsable de la coordination des examens techniques, des autorisations et de la communication des positions réglementaires aux titulaires de permis. Je m'en remets à l'expertise des spécialistes techniques et parfois des Services juridiques pour m'assurer que les positions formulées et communiquées par l'entremise de mon directeur cadrent avec le mandat de la CCSN et le permis d'exploitation de Darlington et qu'elles sont uniformes dans toute la Direction de la réglementation des centrales nucléaires. Au sein de mon équipe, je suis responsable de la conduite de l'exploitation et de l'aptitude fonctionnelle. Il y a toujours des leçons à tirer et des possibilités d'amélioration!

Réalisations spéciales

Je suis particulièrement heureuse d'avoir reçu un prix d'excellence pour le rôle que j'ai joué dans la conception de l'exercice Unified Response, qui a eu lieu en mai 2014. Cette simulation d'urgence nucléaire, à laquelle de multiples organisations ont participé, a amené son lot de difficultés, mais aussi beaucoup de plaisir. Je suis également fière d'avoir contribué aux rapports annuels sur les centrales nucléaires de 2012, 2013 et 2014.