Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances - CNSC Online - Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Table of Contents

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 1


score

The nuclear industry regulates the transport of nuclear substances in Canada.

The CNSC and Transport Canada regulate the transport of nuclear substances in Canada through a series of safety-centred regulatory requirements covering the entire journey of a shipment, from the time it is initially packaged to arrival at its destination.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 2


score

Every year, approximately 100,000 packages containing nuclear substances are shipped to, from, and within Canada.

Each year, more than a million packages containing nuclear substances are safely transported within Canada. Most contain small quantities of nuclear substances such as smoke detectors, medical isotopes for diagnostic medicine, uranium ore, and industrial products such as moisture density gauges used in construction.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 3


score

All nuclear substances are transported in the same type of package.

Nuclear substances are transported in a variety of types of packages based on the nature, form, quantity, and radioactivity of the particular substance. They share the design requirement that they be built to be handled safely and easily, secured properly, and able to withstand routine conditions of transport

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 4


score

Regulations developed by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) are used as a basis to regulate the packaging and transport of radioactive materials around the world.

The IAEA, a United Nations organization, develops worldwide regulations on which the CNSC has based its own regulations. The CNSC regulates all aspects of the packaging and transport of nuclear substances, including the design, production, use, inspection, maintenance and repair of packages, from their preparation for shipment to their unloading at the final destination.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 5


score

Nuclear substances may only be transported by road.

Each package design is evaluated to ensure that it meets all of the applicable regulatory requirements specific to various modes of transport. Package designs are combined with additional regulatory controls such as labeling and maintenance records, allowing packages to be carried safely in all modes of transport allowed by the package design, be it road, rail, air or sea.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 6


score

The person who prepares nuclear substances for shipment has no responsibility for ensuring the safety of the substances during transport.

The prime responsibility for ensuring the safety of nuclear substances during transport rests with the person who is preparing the shipment, the consignor. The package must comply with all CNSC and Transport Canada regulations. Packages must be categorized and labeled correctly, and must be accompanied by the proper transport documentation. The consignor must also display the appropriate safety marks, verify that employees are properly trained for their positions and, if required, have an approved Emergency Response Assistance Plan (ERAP).

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 7


score

Used nuclear fuel shipments require a security plan under CNSC regulations.

Shipments of used nuclear fuel require a transport security plan. This plan requires security measures such as escort personnel, communications arrangements with response forces, security searches, contingency arrangements in case of mechanical breakdown, and procedures to follow during scheduled or unscheduled stops. The details are considered prescribed information and are only disclosed to agencies with a valid need to know such as police response forces.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 8


score

Packages intended for the transport of used nuclear fuel need to be certified by the CNSC and undergo extreme testing.

Regulations require that a used fuel transportation package withstand the cumulative effects of a 9-metre drop onto a hard surface, 30-minutes engulfed in fire burning at 800°C, and immersion in 15 metres of water for 1 hour without any breach of containment. A CNSC-issued certificate demonstrating compliance is required prior to transport.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 9


score

If the proper package is being used, an emergency response plan is not required for shipments of used nuclear fuel.

Regulations require that the consignor have an emergency response plan. The consignor is responsible for both the cost of response and for any clean-up.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 10


score

There is no safe way to transport nuclear substances.

Nuclear substances have been transported safely for over 50 years without accidents that led to any serious injuries, fatality or environmental consequences related to the radioactive nature of such material being transported or being involved in a transport accident.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 11


score

Packages containing nuclear substances can make other cargo radioactive.

To contaminate other cargo, the nuclear substance being transported would have to leave its container and be in contact or enter into another package. All packages intended to transport nuclear substances are sealed to prevent the release of material and have to meet strict contamination limits on their surfaces to prevent this. Approved levels of gamma radiation may pass through the shielding and be detectable outside packages but this radiation cannot contaminate, or make radioactive, anything nearby.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 12


score

If there is an accident during the transport of nuclear substances, the agency or person carrying the package is responsible for emergency response.

Under CNSC regulations, the consignor – the person or agency that packaged the material and hired the carrier – is responsible for the safety of the package during transport. Consignors of fissile material and low specific activity material are also required to have an emergency response assistance plan approved by Transport Canada and in place in addition to a 24-hour emergency number.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 13


score

If you are stuck in traffic beside a vehicle transporting nuclear substances there is no reason to be concerned about your health.

Although it is possible to measure a small amount of radiation being emitted from a package (dose rate), the regulations prescribe strict limits to ensure the safety of workers and the public. This dose rate decreases very rapidly as you move away from the package.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 14


score

No specialized training is required for drivers of vehicles transporting nuclear substances.

Transport Canada requires that drivers be trained on the transport of the dangerous goods they carry. In the case of nuclear substances, they also have to be trained on the radiation protection program of the company for which they are working as per the CNSC’s Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 15


score

Transportation of nuclear substances through public routes poses a risk to public health and safety.

Millions of shipments of nuclear substances are being safely and routinely transported around the world every year, with the impressive record that there has never been any serious injury, or fatality, or environmental consequence related to the radioactive nature of the material being transported since the establishment of the IAEA Transport Regulations in 1960.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Question 16


score

As long as the package meets CNSC requirements, any shipping or delivery company can be hired to transport nuclear substances.

It is the responsibility of the consignor of the shipment to ensure that the transport company has trained their employees in the proper handling and transport of nuclear substances (Class 7 radioactive material) and that it has a radiation protection program in place.

Fact or Fiction: Transport of Nuclear Substances

Your Score

Mythe ou réalité: Le transport de substances nucléaires - CCSN en ligne

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Table de matières

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 1


score

Le secteur nucléaire réglemente le transport des substances nucléaires au Canada.

La CCSN et Transports Canada réglementent le transport des substances nucléaires au Canada au moyen d’une série d’exigences réglementaires concernant la sûreté qui couvrent tout le parcours d’un envoi, depuis la préparation des colis en vue de l’expédition jusqu’à leur arrivée à destination.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 2


score

Chaque année, environ 100 000 colis renfermant des substances nucléaires sont expédiés à destination, en provenance ou à l’intérieur du Canada.

Chaque année, plus d’un million de colis renfermant des substances radioactives sont transportés en toute sûreté au pays. Il s’agit principalement de petites quantités de substances nucléaires, par exemple les sources dans les détecteurs de fumée, des radio-isotopes médicaux à des fins de diagnostic, du minerai d’uranium et des produits industriels comme des jauges d’humidité ou de densité utilisées en construction.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 3


score

Toutes les substances nucléaires sont transportées dans le même type de colis.

Les substances nucléaires sont transportées dans divers types de colis qui varient selon la nature, la forme, la quantité et la radioactivité des substances visées. Tous les types de colis doivent respecter des exigences générales en matière de conception : on doit pouvoir les manipuler aisément et de manière sécuritaire et les fixer adéquatement et ils doivent résister aux conditions normales de transport.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 4


score

La réglementation de l’emballage et du transport de matières radioactives partout dans le monde s’inspire des règlements élaborés par l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA).

L’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA), un organisme des Nations Unies, élabore la réglementation internationale dont s’inspire la CCSN pour établir ses propres règlements. La CCSN réglemente tous les aspects de l’emballage et du transport des substances nucléaires, notamment la conception, la production, l’utilisation, l’inspection, l’entretien et la réparation des colis, depuis leur préparation en vue de l’expédition jusqu’au déchargement à destination.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 5


score

Les substances nucléaires peuvent être transportées uniquement par la route.

On évalue chaque modèle de colis pour s’assurer qu’il répond à toutes les exigences réglementaires s’appliquant aux différents moyens de transport. Les modèles de colis sont utilisés en combinaison avec des mécanismes de contrôle réglementaire supplémentaires, par exemple l’étiquetage et les dossiers d’entretien, qui permettent d’expédier les colis de façon sécuritaire en utilisant n’importe quel moyen de transport autorisé pour le modèle visé – routier, ferroviaire, aérien ou maritime.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 6


score

La personne qui prépare les substances nucléaires en vue de leur expédition n’est pas responsable de leur sûreté durant le transport.

La responsabilité première de garantir la sûreté des substances nucléaires durant le transport revient à la personne qui prépare l’envoi, soit l’expéditeur. Le colis doit respecter tous les règlements de la CCSN et de Transports Canada. Il doit être de la bonne classe, étiqueté correctement et accompagné des documents de transport appropriés. L’expéditeur doit aussi apposer sur le colis les marques de sûreté appropriées, vérifier que les employés sont dûment formés pour le poste qu’ils occupent et, au besoin, établir un plan d’intervention d’urgence et le faire approuver.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 7


score

Avant d’expédier du combustible nucléaire usé, il faut établir un plan de sécurité conformément aux règlements de la CCSN.

Pour expédier du combustible nucléaire usé, il faut élaborer un plan de sécurité du transport. Ce plan doit inclure certaines mesures de sécurité, par exemple prévoir du personnel d’escorte, conclure des arrangements de communication avec les forces d’intervention, effectuer des fouilles de sécurité avant l’expédition et prévoir des mesures d’urgence en cas de bris mécanique et des procédures à suivre en cas d’arrêt prévu ou non. Les détails concernant l’expédition sont considérés comme de l’information réglementée et communiqués uniquement aux organismes qui ont besoin de les connaître, par exemple les services policiers.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 8


score

Les colis utilisés pour le transport de combustible nucléaire usé doivent être homologués par la CCSN et faire l’objet d’épreuves extrêmes.

En vertu des règlements, les colis utilisés pour le transport de combustible nucléaire usé doivent être conçus de manière à résister sans rupture du confinement aux effets cumulatifs d’une chute d’une hauteur de 9 mètres sur une surface dure, d’une exposition à un brasier à une température de 800 °C pendant 30 minutes et d’une immersion sous 15 m d’eau pendant 1 heure. Avant le transport, il faut obtenir le certificat de la CCSN attestant que le colis est conforme aux exigences.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 9


score

Si l’on utilise le colis approprié, aucun plan d’intervention d’urgence n’est requis pour expédier du combustible nucléaire usé.

En vertu des règlements, l’expéditeur doit disposer d’un plan d’intervention d’urgence. L’expéditeur doit prendre en charge le coût de l’intervention et du nettoyage.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 10


score

Il n’existe aucune façon sécuritaire de transporter des substances nucléaires.

On transporte des substances nucléaires en toute sûreté depuis plus de 50 ans. Il n’y a jamais eu de blessures graves, de décès ou de répercussions environnementales attribuables à la nature radioactive des matières transportées ou à un accident de transport.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 11


score

Les colis contenant des substances nucléaires peuvent rendre radioactives les autres marchandises transportées.

Pour contaminer les autres marchandises, il faudrait que les substances nucléaires s’échappent de leur conteneur et entrent en contact avec un autre colis ou y pénètrent. Tous les colis destinés au transport de substances nucléaires sont scellés et doivent respecter des limites rigoureuses de contamination de leur surface pour empêcher ce type de fuite. Même si les règlements permettent qu’une quantité déterminée de rayons gamma puisse traverser le blindage et être détectable à l’extérieur de colis, ce rayonnement ne peut contaminer les autres marchandises ou des objets se trouvant à proximité ou les rendre radioactifs.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 12


score

En cas d’accident au cours du transport de substances nucléaires, la personne ou l’organisme qui transporte le colis est chargé de l’intervention d’urgence.

En vertu des règlements de la CCSN, l’expéditeur – c’est-à-dire la personne ou l’organisme qui emballe les matières et retient les services du transporteur – est responsable de la sécurité du colis en cours de route. L’expéditeur de matières fissiles et de matières de faible activité spécifique doit aussi disposer d’un plan d’intervention d’urgence approuvé par Transports Canada en plus d’un numéro de téléphone d’urgence à composer en tout temps (24 h).

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 13


score

Si vous êtes coincé dans un bouchon de circulation à côté d’un véhicule transportant des substances nucléaires, il n’y a aucune raison de vous préoccuper des répercussions sur votre santé.

Quoiqu’il soit possible de mesurer une petite quantité de rayonnement émis par un colis (débit de dose), la réglementation prévoit des limites strictes pour assurer la sécurité des travailleurs et de la population. Par ailleurs, le débit de dose diminue très rapidement à mesure qu’on s’éloigne du colis.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 14


score

Les chauffeurs de véhicules transportant des substances nucléaires n’ont pas à suivre une formation spécialisée.

Transports Canada exige que les chauffeurs suivent une formation sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses qu’ils transportent. Dans le cas de substances nucléaires, ils doivent aussi suivre une formation sur le programme de radioprotection de l’entreprise pour laquelle ils travaillent, conformément au Règlement sur l’emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires de la CCSN.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 15


score

Le transport de substances nucléaires par des voies publiques présente un risque pour la santé et la sécurité publiques.

Chaque année, des millions d’envois de substances nucléaires sont transportés régulièrement en toute sûreté partout dans le monde. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur du règlement de l’AIEA sur le transport en 1960, il n’y a jamais eu de blessures graves, de décès ou de répercussions environnementales attribuables à la nature radioactive des matières transportées. Il s’agit d’un dossier exemplaire.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Question 16


score

Pourvu que le colis soit conforme aux exigences de la CCSN, on peut retenir les services de n’importe quelle entreprise de transport ou de livraison pour transporter des substances nucléaires.

Il revient à l’expéditeur de l’envoi de s’assurer que l’entreprise de transport a donné à ses employés une formation sur la manutention et le transport appropriés des substances nucléaires (matières radioactives de catégorie 7) et mis en place un programme de radioprotection.

Mythe ou réalité : Le transport de substances nucléaires

Votre résultat