Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Table of Contents

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Rad Measures

logo
score

Radiation cannot be measured.

It is not normally possible to sense radiation. However, it can be measured by various instruments, such as Geiger counters or the dosimeters carried by many nuclear workers. These instruments measure the different types and energies of radiation and their effects on human health.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

In or Out

logo
score

If a person swallows a radioactive substance, they are considered contaminated.

When a person's body is in the path of radiation, then the person is irradiated. If the person touches, breathes, or swallows a radioactive substance, he or she is considered contaminated.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Daily Dose

logo
score

Human activities contribute 50% of the radiation to which the public is exposed.

60% of all radiation is naturally occurring. Man-made radiation from sources such as X-rays and other medical procedures account for approximately 40% of the public exposure. Nuclear energy production adds less than 1%.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Atomic Thievery

logo
score

Non-ionizing radiation has enough energy to remove an electron from an atom.

Only ionizing radiation has enough energy to knock an electron out of its orbit when it collides with one. An atom that has lost an electron this way is called an ion and it can cause damage (including damage to DNA) to chemical bonds in an organism. This makes ionizing radiation (such as X-rays) more dangerous than non-ionizing radiation (such as infrared and visible light rays), which doesn’t have enough energy to affect atoms this way.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Phones and Bones

logo
score

Microwaves are very similar to X-rays.

Microwaves are larger and less penetrating than X-rays. When they collide with atoms, they don't have the power to knock electrons out of their orbit, which would create ions and disrupt chemical bonds. X-rays are able to do this – which is why they are called ionizing radiation and must be carefully regulated.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Undulation Variation

logo
score

A microwave is exceptionally small for an electromagnetic wave, hence the name.

Despite their name, microwaves are actually much larger than visible light waves or X rays. If you could see them, the individual undulations in a microwave would be about as wide as a pea, while light waves are about the size of a bacterium and X rays are as small as the nucleus of an atom.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

An Ode to Ozone

logo
score

Most of the ultraviolet (UV) rays emitted by our sun are ionizing radiation.

Only a small part of the UV spectrum is ionizing, and that is entirely blocked by our atmosphere. The UVA and UVB radiation that can reach us are non-ionizing, but can cause sunburn damage if you aren't properly protected.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Rad Suit in a Bottle

logo
score

A sunburn is an ionizing radiation burn.

Sunburns are the result of damage to chemical bonds in the skin caused by overexposure to ultraviolet radiation. The body can usually repair the damage and it responds to the damage by triggering the production of melanin, our skin's protective pigment. However, overexposure to ultraviolet radiation can increase the risk of skin cancer.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

The Nature of Things

logo
score

People are exposed to radiation all of the time.

Radiation is all around us and we are exposed to some form of it every day. More than 60 percent of all radiation to which people are exposed occurs naturally and is called "background radiation". It comes from radon in the air, cosmic rays, radioactive substances in the earth crust, and in some of our food and drink.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Mild-Mannered Hero

logo
score

You are naturally radioactive.

Our bodies regularly metabolize common, mildly radioactive elements (such as potassium-40) in our food.

Fact or Fiction: Radiation Around You

Your Score

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Table de matières

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Mesure du rayonnement

score

On ne peut mesurer le rayonnement.

En règle générale, il est impossible de percevoir le rayonnement. Toutefois, on peut le mesurer au moyen d’instruments, par exemple un compteur Geiger ou un dosimètre comme celui que portent de nombreux travailleurs du secteur nucléaire. Ces instruments servent à mesurer les différents types de rayonnement, leur niveau d’énergie et leurs effets sur la santé humaine.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Dedans ou dehors

score

Si une personne avale une substance radioactive, on dira qu’elle est contaminée.

Une personne est irradiée lorsqu’elle se trouve dans le trajet du rayonnement. Si elle touche, respire ou avale une substance radioactive, on dira qu’elle est contaminée.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Dose quotidienne

score

L’activité humaine est à l’origine de 50 % du rayonnement auquel est exposée la population.

En réalité, 60 % du rayonnement est d’origine naturelle. Le rayonnement d’origine artificielle, par exemple les rayons X et d’autres types utilisés pour les procédures médicales, totalise environ 40 % de l’exposition de la population. L’énergie nucléaire représente moins de 1 %.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Vol atomique

score

Le rayonnement non ionisant est suffisamment puissant pour ajouter ou retrancher un électron d’un atome en traversant la matière.

Lorsqu’il entre en collision avec un électron, le rayonnement ionisant dégage suffisamment d’énergie pour l’éjecter de son orbite. L’atome qui a ainsi perdu un électron est appelé ion. Il peut rompre les liaisons chimiques dans un organisme et même endommager l’ADN. C’est pourquoi le rayonnement ionisant (comme les rayons X) est plus dangereux que le rayonnement non ionisant (comme la lumière infrarouge ou visible) qui ne dégage pas assez d’énergie pour altérer les atomes.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Attention, danger?

score

Les micro-ondes ressemblent beaucoup aux rayons X.

Les micro-ondes sont beaucoup plus longues et moins pénétrantes que les rayons X. Lorsqu’elles entrent en collision avec des atomes, les micro-ondes ne dégagent pas assez d’énergie pour éjecter les électrons de leur orbite, ce qui créerait des ions et briserait les liaisons chimiques. Les rayons X peuvent le faire et c’est pourquoi ils sont dits ionisants et doivent faire l’objet d’une réglementation rigoureuse.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Oscillations variables

score

Les micro-ondes sont appelées ainsi parce qu’elles sont beaucoup plus courtes que les autres ondes électromagnétiques.

Malgré leur nom, les micro-ondes sont en réalité beaucoup plus longues que les ondes lumineuses visibles ou les rayons X. Si on pouvait les voir, les oscillations des micro-ondes auraient à peu près la largeur d’un pois. À titre de comparaison, les ondes lumineuses auraient la taille d’une bactérie et les rayons X seraient aussi minuscules que le noyau d’un atome.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Ode à l’ozone

score

La majeure partie du rayonnement ultraviolet (UV) émis par le Soleil est ionisant.

Notre atmosphère filtre la très petite quantité du rayonnement ultraviolet qui est ionisante. Les UVA et UVB parviennent jusqu’à nous sont non ionisants, mais ils peuvent causer des coups de soleil si nous ne nous protégeons pas adéquatement.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Écran anti-rayonnement en bouteille

score

Un coup de soleil est une brûlure causée par un rayonnement ionisant.

Les coups de soleil sont causés par un bris de liaisons chimiques dans la peau découlant d’une surexposition au rayonnement ultraviolet. Le corps peut généralement se régénérer en stimulant la production d’un pigment appelé mélanine, qui protège la peau. Cependant, une surexposition au rayonnement ultraviolet peut accroître le risque de cancer de la peau.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

C’est dans la nature des choses

score

La population est constamment exposée au rayonnement.

Le rayonnement est partout autour de nous. Chaque jour, nous y sommes exposés sous une forme ou une autre. En réalité, 60 % de ce rayonnement est d’origine naturelle (aussi appelé « rayonnement naturel de fond »). Il est émis par le radon présent dans l’air, les rayons cosmiques, les substances radioactives dans l’écorce terrestre, et certains aliments et boissons que nous consommons.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Un héros méconnu

score

Nous sommes naturellement radioactifs.

Notre corps métabolise régulièrement des éléments à faible radioactivité, comme le potassium-40 que l’on retrouve dans la nourriture.

Mythe ou réalité : Les radiations autour de nous

Votre résultat